Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 17, 2011 | 7:42 AM EDT
  • Underdog of the Week September 21, 2011
  • Daily 2nd Place September 18, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Thanks so much Newgrounds, for the frontpage and all the support, it means a lot to me. You guys rock, and thanks Tom!

Hey guys, hope you dig it.
-Space Bar mutes the game.

Q: This game is too short? What's the deal?
A: I just ran out of space, but I plan on releasing sequels quickly, with as short a wait as possible between episodes. Hopefully this will compensate. I'm a firm believer of quality over quantity, I'd rather my games be short and interesting rather than long and boring, if possible. ^_^

Q: Stuck at the fog.
A: You can also combine items, you have to combine three items to get past the fog.

Q: Did you work on Alice is Dead?
A: Yes, I co-created it.

Q: I'm stuck at the wolf's head, where he's just starring at me.
A: That should be fixed, there is an arrow in the upper right corner, it is black. Click it. Sorry, wolf's kinda a pain that way. :P

Reviews


MaestroLanskiMaestroLanski

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 18, 2011

New adventure?)

Ok. bro i hope that time Rabbit-hunter will not die with pathetic look in 3rd part?
Anyway, your games has a perfect style and music.
Also it's good joke about a violence and gore and muting game at the beginning, i like it!


Hyptosis responds:

Er, he's a wolf. A wolf hunter, but I can't tell you the ending! :P Thanks for the kind words man, stay cool. Also the warning is kinda a warning for the entire series, this one just didn't make it to the gore. :P


TheOtakumanTheOtakuman

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 18, 2011

Well done!

I really loved the atmosphere the music presented.

As far as the story? Lovely take on Red Riding Hood, placing the wolf as the protagonist (or is he?), and a misguided soul (Red). As well as a back woods ignorant village. Small and yet full of mystery.

The items placed in this game reminded me of doing real life treasure hunts (geocaching) although without the hints or coordinates (with exception of the cricket).

All in all, great game!


Hyptosis responds:

Thanks a ton. Yeah it's hard to hide items, without making them too hidden. I thought the candle would be the item people asked about most, but it seems to be the cricket and egg oddly enough. Hummmmm. Always a surprise with these games.


bud3rbud3r

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 18, 2011

very good

i liked it very much and i can see you are responding to most people so i have two things: 1.very good game and was that poster in the middle of town for anotehr game becuz i think ive pleyed it and 2.i had the same problem at the end where it just said(i searched...described) so maybe thats a bug idk


Hyptosis responds:

OKAY, I figured it out, there is an arrow in the upper right hand corner. Sorry everyone! I forgot to change the color on it, will do that in the next few hours. Click the arrow in the upper right to continue.


BenovereBenovere

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 18, 2011

Very good, cannot wait to see the next episode

This is an exceptional point and click adventure game. It is unfortunate that you had to cut the game short due to size constraints. However, if you are outputting this quality work, they might be able to make an exception for you. I have seen entries that are far inferior that were 15+ Megs. However, I don't know who you would need to talk to, I only know that it can be done.

As for the game, the overlay does not really go with the music. While it is a great overlay for old and scary games, the music and gameplay do not really coincide with the overall theme. The music is too pristine and bouncy to be of any contribution (think of off-keyed and slower tempo clown music), and there is nothing in the gameplay that would give you the shivers. The jack-o-lantern gave me the impression that you were trying to make a scary game. With traditional point and click games, there are two basic options, jump and and scare and the classic thats just wrong scary. This is a more of an adventure game than a scary game, but it is still one of the better point and click games that I have played.

Also, the font is a little hard to read. Especially the one in red. Maybe a border can be added? The choices you have are also hard to figure out. The dark red/light red scheme is difficult to see. A better choice would be completely changing the color when the mouse hovers over a choice. Spacing them out a little more can also achieve this goal.


Hyptosis responds:

Thanks for the feedback, I"ll try to do better next time. Tom offered to give me more space, but I want other sites to host the game too, and most of them use a 10 meg limit. I wasn't going for scary at all, I don' t make 'scary' games, I just try to set mood and create atmosphere. Some people said Alice is Dead was scary, but we weren't making horror games, we were just telling a story we wanted to tell, if it was also scary, cool. :P Thanks a million!


blackzilla1blackzilla1

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 17, 2011

I love a good mystery.

I really digged this game. The storyline, the art and dialogue, and even the atmosphere was superb. Bravo sir, I cannot wait for the next episode.


Hyptosis responds:

Thank you!