Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 17, 2011 | 7:42 AM EDT
  • Underdog of the Week September 21, 2011
  • Daily 2nd Place September 18, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Thanks so much Newgrounds, for the frontpage and all the support, it means a lot to me. You guys rock, and thanks Tom!

Hey guys, hope you dig it.
-Space Bar mutes the game.

Q: This game is too short? What's the deal?
A: I just ran out of space, but I plan on releasing sequels quickly, with as short a wait as possible between episodes. Hopefully this will compensate. I'm a firm believer of quality over quantity, I'd rather my games be short and interesting rather than long and boring, if possible. ^_^

Q: Stuck at the fog.
A: You can also combine items, you have to combine three items to get past the fog.

Q: Did you work on Alice is Dead?
A: Yes, I co-created it.

Q: I'm stuck at the wolf's head, where he's just starring at me.
A: That should be fixed, there is an arrow in the upper right corner, it is black. Click it. Sorry, wolf's kinda a pain that way. :P

Reviews


JediGJediG

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 25, 2011

An Excellent World Setting to Start a Game in!

This game, while brief, provides a compelling and intriguing fantasy world that players just get to scratch the surface of. A unique art style with wonderful 'old timey cinema' touches alongside a beautifully apt soundtrack combine to provide the perfect atmosphere to such a setting. Cool character designs and interaction options further help you immerse yourself in the role of a wolfman witchhunter jaded by many false alarms, but still wary of legitimate threats lurking about. Even better for mythology buffs is the fact that the author has clearly done their homework here: the wolfman is from Fenwall (gee, is that a reference to Fenrir of Norse myth?) and the actual origination of the Jack o'Lantern. Have fun exploring the game and trying out various combinations of items to get through to the (current) end. Kudos and many thanks to the creator! I clearly stopped by from my latest (years long) hiatus at an opportune time, because this game is awesome! The only reason it's getting a 9 instead of a 10 is the brevity, which I'm looking forward to later installments correcting by continuing the tale woven here.


People find this review helpful!
Hyptosis responds:

Thank you so much for the feedback. I'm really pleased that his jaded nature came through to you. It's for players like you that I really make these games and enjoy making them so much. Thanks again, I really enjoyed your feedback.


AquamantorAquamantor

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 25, 2011

I'm torn with this...

...If you are going to have the player pick up an item, that item will be on the screen. This is an essential game-design necessity. How am I supposed to know that by clicking on a random bush, I get a mushroom?
It's unfortunate, because the atmosphere, story, and world are so excellent. It has all the elements of a great adventure game...without one of the most important elements of a good one: discouraging completely random clicking.
The good news is that you can improve it. You just have to make said items visible. If you don't, though, I'm not sure if I'll have the patience to go through this without a walkthrough again.

And like I said, it's a shame. I get the sense that you're really combining traditional fantasy and dark fantasy with fairy tales to come up with something really interesting. I have no doubt that you're capable of it, as I did play Alice is Dead. I'll be watching for this series in the future.


People find this review helpful!

YtakerYtaker

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

It was... magikarp?

Why is a metallic magikarp eating girls and making dark pacts with her? The plot thickens.

Great game. I'd love a sequel.


People find this review helpful!
Hyptosis responds:

:D haha!


Trippx160Trippx160

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

Hints and Spoilers.

Loved it, can't wait for the second. Haven't played Alice yet, but going to!
10/10 5/5

ALSO SPOILER ALERT, Don't read any further if you like the challange!

HINTS AND SPOILERS! Do not continue if you don't want to know!
Knife is in a tool box (Left bottom of the Wrapped up guys place.)
Candle is above the fire place in the rich guys house.
Pumpkin is on the porch outside the boy's house. (the one defending her.)
(Use the items to make a Jack-o-lantern.)
Potion: The Tonic is behind the 'Noble' woman, the bottles.
Dead cricket is under camerons bed.
The mushroom is in a bush outside camerons house. (To the left.)
Sparrow's egg is in the tall grass (weeds?) the house before going to camerons. (Take them all to the wrapped up guy.)

And a runed Hammer is in Cameron's dresser.
Use it on the nails in the trees in the woods.


People find this review helpful!

bloodthirstyzombiebloodthirstyzombie

Rated 0 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

conat get out of the books

man can you help me with this i can get out of the books cuz theres no arrows or nuthin