Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/CrystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users(username)\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\FlashPlayer\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounded.net\579000\579445_rpg.swf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.deviantart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


sidelinewarriorsidelinewarrior

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 29, 2012

Great game. For some reason it stopped giving me medals though :(



DarknessKightDarknessKight

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

Great game but..

the game froze on me. Happened when I portaled back and ended up on top of a monster. The sound played that I am about to go into a battle but nothing happens


Lan14n responds:

Sorry to hear that. Can you provide more information about this issue? What monster and which floor it happened? Did you portal out without killing the monster?


slicwillislicwilli

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 26, 2011

good but too easy

I really liked this game, and played all the way through, but it was too easy. Never once was one of my characters even close to dying. I always had more than enough money and potions and ether. I hope you make more of these, but make it more challenging.


People find this review helpful!

Psycho666Psycho666

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 4, 2011

Good, but slightly buggy.

I love this game, but I noticed a bug.

No matter what the stats are, 'Rueben' always takes more damage when attacked.
I've made sure to keep his defense ratings above all the other characters, but he always takes more damage from any source, even when the other characters receive zero damage.



PoundDotBlamPoundDotBlam

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 18, 2011

Nice job fun turn based game

This is an incredibly well thought out game. The flash game itself is nothing really new, but it's so well organized and with purpose.

One thing I didn't like too much about the game was clicking where you needed to go. I realize that in this game, you really have not choice because of the type of movement in the cave you have to do (the monsters/the chests...)... but my preference would almost be just arrows clicking where I need to go, and going there immediately... if there is a chest, of course I'm going to go and check it out, and if there is a monster, I am forced into fighting it (random encounter)... this saves a lot of time of just moving around the room which just eats up gameplay.

I one solution or suggestion to to the current movement you have set up is to put a "search" command that would allow you to find secrets in the room (hidden coins/armor/jewels/etc...). This way the movement is not necessary wasted time, but could be part of the gameplay itself. I hope that makes sense.

Anyway great job.