Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/C rystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users\(username)\AppDa ta\Roaming\Macromedia\Fla sh Player\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounde d.net\579000\579445_rpg.s wf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.devian tart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


matchboxmattmatchboxmatt

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 23, 2011

Tight game

I love how everyone is named after Final Fantasy Mystic Quest characters.



HAPPYHIPPYMAMAHAPPYHIPPYMAMA

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 23, 2011

Very nice game!

I'm enjoying playing. Great job!



realworldnekurealworldneku

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 23, 2011

Almost there

Something was missing. I am having a lot of fun playing it though. Great job!



Mouse14Mouse14

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 23, 2011

Fantastic Game, Addicting and wonderful!

Everyone stop being so hard up, just because you're not on the front page doesn't mean dog this game. Best game I've played in awhile, i'm not a fan of online games but the simplicity of this game just pulled me right in and after that I couldn't stop playing because of all the in detail designing, graphics, and comedy. Great job Emmanuel and whoever else who might have been working on this with him. Peace.
To answer some questions even though this isn't my game:
1. This is best flash submission of the week... not the best flash submission ever..
2. Who cares if the names could be coming from a FF game, most games copy other games because of the ideas that the creator thinks is cool, the game itself is still the idea of the creator.
3. The final boss is supposed to be hella strong or it wont be fun for competitive players like me, I beat the final boss with ease because I knew what I was doing and it only took me 1 try.
Think before you review and give it a 8-. Some hard up people we live with on New grounds sometimes. Anyways, great job Emmanuel, peace out.



RockAmboleRockAmbole

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 23, 2011

Best flash submission ever?

I have a hard time seeing why this was voted as the best flash submission in actuality. It is a mindless grind-fest, thirty levels full of enemies with nothing to really entertain you amidst all that but short 10 dialogue-box-long cutscenes every five levels with some sidequests thrown about which are not innovative at all. I kept going just because of my obsession to fucking finish this, and so did everyone else, I assume.

I'll give it that, it was enough to keep me entertained for a long time, but it's VERY slow paced, shallow and unbalanced, as much as it kept me playing, it was far from deserving as much praise.

I give it an honest 8 because it's not a bad game, it's just highly overrated. Good job though and don't take this too personally.