Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/CrystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users(username)\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\FlashPlayer\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounded.net\579000\579445_rpg.swf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.deviantart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


ShadeTheEchidnaShadeTheEchidna

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 23, 2011

I enjoyed playing this

This is a good old-style rpg. I, however found some of the dialogue to be choppy. Without real closure or introductions. That's only a minor thing though. The major part of this is the gameplay. While repetetive, it was tedious, which I like in rpgs.

1 thing that I would constitute as a "bug" I suppose you could call it. Attacks that deal damage AND have a status effect (I.E. Tranq. Shot) will still do their status effect EVEN if they "miss".

Also, I can't really tell if you meant to do this, but, Moves like Fire Strike seem to depend on magic power rather than your actual attack power? That would be alright if you didn't learn it in the fighter's tree. That also seems redundant, considering that you already can learn a fire move from the mage's tree.

So far, other than smoothing out some edges to the system...I really like this. The battle view reminded me heavily of Breath Of Fire II. I also hope you are inspired for a possible sequel. I don't write reviews often...I felt this deserved it. Thank you for the experience!


People find this review helpful!
Lan14n responds:

Thanks. I had attack and status effects calculated separately. This is so Accuracy stat won't be overpowered, and you would need resistance if you want to counter it. Warrior first skill (except phoebe i think) deal magic damage. I made it like that so you can hurt monsters with less mdef even without a mage on the party.


DorothyProductionsDorothyProductions

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 23, 2011

Brilliance.

I find this RPG highly entertaining. A few things though:

- I think that if you added a music or sound mute button, or even just some sound options, I think not only me, but other players would appreciate this.
-A Run button would be nice, but even if you do not add one, it still creates a situation where players must use potions, spells, or just completely avoid a part of the map.

Otherwise, REALLY good job.

Thanks for putting in the time to create such an enjoyable game.


People find this review helpful!

GamerSurgeGamerSurge

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 23, 2011

Really Great Game

Really love the mix of Mystery Dungeon overlword play and Final Fantasy battle system and the fact its a dungeon crawler is great the story and gameplay are awesome plus its humorous and any flaws are only minor. one of the best RPGs ive seen on newgrounds.
GS rating:10/10


People find this review helpful!

SiduinSiduin

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars September 23, 2011

Wierd Glitch

Whenever i get into combat the only one who dose anything is Tristam the enames don't attack and no matter how many times i skip turn none of the other part members get a turn.


Lan14n responds:

I do not understand what you mean. Please give me more information. It sounds like a huge bug.


ImaginaMagicaImaginaMagica

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 23, 2011

Awesome game!

I love it a lot, but one thing I think would be great to add would be the option of upgrading weapons you have in your inventory too--not just the ones your characters have equipped.