Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/CrystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users(username)\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\FlashPlayer\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounded.net\579000\579445_rpg.swf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.deviantart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


thenewmidishrinethenewmidishrine

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

Great!

Its a proper RPG and its actually pretty good! Amazing stuff! 10/10 awesome game



JabaxaroJabaxaro

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

Pretty nice!

I adore myself some RPGs, and indeed this is one of the best RPGs on Newgrounds to date me thinks

Also a very nice touch naming the characters after the party members in Mystic Quest, really love that game.



milthanmilthan

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

A great take on RPG.

In a site like Newgrounds, there are many great games, yet only a handful of RPG can be labeled as such. And this is one among of them.

I can say that the gameplay is pretty comparable to games such as the retro FF games or BOF games. A very good comparison if you ask me. The system and battle is simplistic while at the same time is fun. The enemies are well leveled with the characters. Even, the weapons are quite varied. Many thoughts in this game is shown within the outcome of the game. In simple words, the Crystal Story is great.

My cons for the game besides the bugs since most games have the same problem, are:
*The weapons aren't as detailed on how does it affects the characters skills. Such as element specific weapons.
*The story is a bit unpolished which is a letdown for a kind of game that is about story and character progresses. Although, the gameplay makes up for it.
*The inventory is still messy looking even with the categorical section.

Overall, I picked this as one of my favorite RPG game in Newgrounds.


People find this review helpful!

JpnewgroundsJpnewgrounds

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

Awesome

You copied the slime from epic battle fantasy, but still a great game.



fatpig420fatpig420

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

GREAT GAME

awesome game. great combat system aswell as a great ability line system.

but it needs to have better weapons in the shop and the monsters can get a bit cycled
but GREAT GAME OVER ALL