Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/CrystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users(username)\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\FlashPlayer\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounded.net\579000\579445_rpg.swf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.deviantart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


JahkrelJahkrel

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

Fantastic RPG

This is the best RPG I've come across in a long time. I even think its better than FF13. It really get back to the way turn based rpgs should be. Class crossing weapons, abilities and upgrades.

However I did notice a couple of things here:
1) Once I got to a dungeon 10 levels higher than my own I no longer got experience from the battles maybe 1xp or 5xp which seems strange. I noticed it at dungeon 38 and on.
2) I killed the ultimate dargon at lvl 28 which seems weird since hes lvl 50.
3) Some abilities are clearly overpowered like outbreak and healing water.
4) I also think that Kaeli needs buffing. She became very obsolete or just didnt matter.
5) Mages need some sort of chance to miss or some downside. They are pure massive damage that can crit and because mana never really runs out if you go into a battle with full mana.
***6)---This is important to fix--- One of the funny exploits I found is if you equip a weapon with high magic it increases your max mana to say 120/120. If you heal and then switch to a weapon with lower magic and higher str for a fighter then your mana becomes say 120/38 where u can OVERCHARGE your manapool to beyond its max. VERY USEFUL EXPLOIT.

If it were up to me this would be the number one game on newgrounds. Also I would wish you would work for squareenix(I believe thats it). The final fantasy creating company. You could single handedly fix there downward spiral in the rpg department. I'm totally serious. If I had an in at squareenix I would get you involved with designing the next FF.

Anyway This game is amazing for a flash. I can't possibly see how this will ever be beaten in the rpg flash catagory.

AMAZING GAME. and this rpg fan is a happy one. Thanks for this :D


People find this review helpful!

iGetPointsiGetPoints

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

Very Nice

I like :P



thunderkid4thunderkid4

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

only problem is..

my file was deleted, i never cleared my cache so that cant be it and i was all the way up to the dragon :(


People find this review helpful!

zangor3000zangor3000

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

Two words

Flee button. this game is great, but sometimes battles are just to difficult to beat. Otherwise, awesome game. Keep up the good work.


People find this review helpful!

PerfectSinPerfectSin

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 24, 2011

Great! :)

Awesome game all round! One of the best RPG i've came across. 10/10