Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/C rystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users\(username)\AppDa ta\Roaming\Macromedia\Fla sh Player\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounde d.net\579000\579445_rpg.s wf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.devian tart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


lithiumsollithiumsol

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 25, 2011

the save files

the game is great and all,but the one problem i seem to be having is is save storage my computer deletes it's browsing history on it's own every two days.



MeetURMakerMeetURMaker

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 25, 2011

Simple yet addictive

The game is Simple yet addictive, i never taught i would be playing this game for a long long time(i had it in bookmarks tab) but there are some issues about this game
- I Find some skills to be Overpowered such as
Battle Cry - i find it overpowered because the enemies attacks become 0, it should have been 10% of their attack (stackable)
- I Find the game so easy in the mid-game because the enemies have low health and you can use as many skills as possible to them which are powerful and you can carry ether to replenish them. i suggest you can only carry 10 of each healing items at a time
- Whenever the enemy attacks with poison and it misses you still get poisoned for no reason
- Healers are useless. as i said before, you can carry as much healing item as you want
- its hard to identify what exactly the weapon/armors/rings do because you can only see in the stats what's being added or reduced unless you remove the item one by one and see what it exactly does
- If you can add a Retry Button on Zombie Defense. It pisses me off because you have to click 3 more buttons just to play again
- you must add how many times you wish to upgrade the weapon because its tiring to click just to upgrade
- you could add also how many of the items would you like to buy
- i find the golds useless because theres not much to buy in the shop (i had over 500,000 golds)
- add more selection to the shop and more expensive items
- The skills are somewhat repetitive such as
Attack Up, Roar, Shear, Haste, ETC they all have in the same heroes which is kind of repetitive because theres not much of a choice. what i mean is that the Heroes must have all the skills different from each other
-THE BESTIARY IS BROKEN. IT ONLY SHOWS THE MONSTERS UP TO THE KWAMI AND DOES NOT GO FURTHER ON. IT SAID THE I KILLED 940 MONSTERS BUT I CALCULATED IT ALL AND IT TURNED OUT TO BE 904 MONSTERS. SOME MONSTERS I RECALL FIGHTING WITH ARE 5 BAHUMOT, 1 FURY AND 3 BUNCH BUT THEY DO NOT APPEAR IN BESTIARY. IF YOU COULD ADD AN ARROW IN THE BESTIARY FROM MONSTER TO MONSTER WOULD BE AWESOME, I DO NOT HAVE TO CLICK BACK TO SEE THE NEXT MONSTER'S DETAIL
- off with caps. you must add a timer the show how many turns left before the Buff is gone
- you should also add a "Go back to the Main Menu Screen" option if you wanted a better item to get from the slime
- you could always reload the game if you want better items from slimes which is i think useful and Noobish
- Speed is useless
- If you get poisoned (or any Status) and ended the match and get into a fight the poison status is gone. i have not even used a single status cure items because i can finish of a match so easily and the status is gone

Theres much more that i couldnt remember
The good thing about this game is
- It has a good but not best story
- Great Graphics
- Funny Dialog
- Memorable Characters
- even the game is a bit repetitive, you will still find yourself playing it for HOURS or maybe DAYS
- Funny Story

8.7/10 for me


People find this review helpful!

JohnHerviccJohnHervicc

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 25, 2011

4/5, 8/10

Don't get me wrong - the game's really fine and I'm glad I was able to play it, but it's still not perfect. Most things probably have been mentioned, so I'll just focus on the bugs, stuff that annoyed me the most and some tips that might help other players.

- When you're being attacked by an enemy just before you switch a map, you're going to start a fight right after changing location - even if it means a battle with no enemies, getting no loot, money or experience. You weren't planning on making it possible, were you?
- When Kaeli kills an enemy with first attack of Double Shot, she doesn't hit another enemy or stop the attack - she just hits the air and still deals damage (sic!). Here's a question - what are they going to breathe when she kills the whole air in the dungeon? (But - really - you could work on that skill or simply make dying animations a bit longer.)
- Healers are useless, in my humble opinion. Items are much better - they seem to have less 'cooldown' (I still haven't figured out the whole speed thing, but character do seem to act faster after using an item than after a spell) and can be used on any character by ANY character - which means you can actually turn a mage into healer by simply using a few potions in combat - and still be able to deal some serious damage.
- There are also other balance issues. Magic is very powerful and gets pretty much overpowered with time; non-massive attacks become useless as the game progresses. Combat becomes way too easy after some time.
- Feeding slime gives you way too good rewards. I mean, come on - five high quality dishes and you've got yourself a legendary item? Aren't they suppose to be rare or something? This way you can just save the game and load it over and over until you get a nice, legendary item you need. Not fair, I'd say. (Also, the seeds - let's face it - suck. +1 speed or a powerful artefact that can actually raise your speed more than usual, 'purple' items? I don't see much of a choice.)
- The menus are weird. Seriously, I have no idea how to load a save or get back to the main screen after starting a game. Also, I can only guess which spell uses which skill. Some equations would be nice. And when it comes to selling... Let's just say a few simple buttons would save me extra 5 minutes every time I'm trying to sell some loot.
- Either I'm not every smart, or the hard and expert modes are a bit TOO hard. Even with some luck and clicking as fast as I can, I wasn't able to win. (Maybe because I don't like such games and I gave up very easily. But still.)

OK, maybe it's enough complaining (for now, at least!). I'll also post a few tips, in case someone's having some problems with the game:
- About the classes - don't waste your characters on healers. As I've said, they're not worth it. Try to get as many characters with massive attacks as possible. Tristam is a great rogue or mage (warrior is worth using if you have 30 APs to spare), Kaeli can stun as a mage, but her true potential lies in the rogue class, you'll simply love Phoebe's stuns as a warrior, but you can also try to make her a rogue and Reuben can be a great mage, but also not so bad warrior. Try to suit your style and don't be afraid to change classes often.
- About the items - try to get as much speed and accuracy as you can. Yes, purple and orange items are much better, but if you're able to get high level white/green stuff with great bonuses (for the moments), don't be a I-have-to-look-epic!-player and don't be ashamed to switch some stuff. Just be careful not you sell your artefacts. Also, use armory as often as possible.
- Do all the side quests. Can't have too many APs.
- If you're bored of constant fighting on higher levels, try to avoid enemies that don't drop high quality food. Trust me, with your enormous damage and massive attacks, you can have a lot lower level than your enemies.

Well, I'm running out of characters for the review. What can I say - it's a really entertaining game, but it does need some changes. Please, work on it and/or make a second part!


People find this review helpful!

BestselectBestselect

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 25, 2011

Great Game!

Well like i said above this is clearly a great game. I don't intend to give you all those little details about bugs like most of my predecessors did but i wanted to hint a bug that i haven't read about in the review section below.

Every time i load the game my mage and healer class (Tristam, Reuben) lack 3 MP. And trust me i am more than 100% sure i visited the inn before saving cause that's what i always do. Not a major problem but i thought i'd let you know.

Oh and you could try to fix the move bug. By that i mean that when you click to move around it sometimes bugs out so that it automatically "spams" the mouseclick


People find this review helpful!

ladde12ladde12

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 25, 2011

Lan14n MUST READ THIS

THIS IS A GREAT GAME ALREADY, YET IT STILL HAS PLENTY OF ROOM TO GROW.

1. Lacks HOTKEYS, a.) for inventory b.) for skills c.) for equipment d.) AND THE MOST IMPORTANT, for using items. It's killing everyone, clicking all the way to the inventory just so I could heal.

2. TOO MUCH CLICKING ON USING ITEMS and HEALING, it's killing everyone, clicking the item and the heal skill again and again after each use. Maybe you could make this continuous so we don't have to "CLICK ITEM/HEAL, CLICK CHARACTER" over and over again.

3. TOO MUCH CLICKING ON SELLING, when we have rare things we don't wanna sell and they stack up, to be able to sell common items we have to "CLICK NEXT, CLICK ITEM, CLICK SELL" over and over again. Maybe it shouldn't go back to the first set of items after selling.

4. TOO MUCH CLICKING ON EQUIPPING, it's killing everyone when the screen goes back to the character screen AFTER UNEQUIPPING.

5. GIVE THE ITEMS THEIR STATS and NOT COMPARE THEM ON YOUR OWN, it's killing everyone that you underestimate their knowledge of comparing items for themselves.

6. GIVE AN EQUATION ON HOW SKILLS COMPUTE FOR DAMAGE in the SKILL DESCRIPTION, the offensive ROGUE SKILLS of TRISTAM are VERY UNPREDICTABLE, I'm having a hard time which stat increases they're efficiency. The SKILL DESCRIPTION SHOULD ALSO INFORM IF A PARTICULAR SKILL DOESN'T CRITICAL,
like the magic skills, or if it has LOWER ACCURACY than ordinary attacks, such as QUICKDRAW, TRITON'S WRATH, OMNISLASH and ROGUE SKILLS.

7. INCREASE THE HP OF SOME MONSTERS TO 5X-10X, the battles don't last long enough for ANY SIGNIFICANCE FOR USE OF DISABLING SKILLS. Maybe you could also multiply the exp to 5X-10X to compromise for the HIGH HP. ADD VARIETY WITH THE HP's also so as NOT TO BECOME REPETITIVE. With this, you could even lessen monsters per map so everybody would have the FEELING of HUNTING FOR STRONG MONSTERS, which is MUCH BETTER than the REPETITIVE FEELING of KILLING PLENTY OF WEAK MONSTERS WITH ONE SKILL.

8. THE DISABLES TAKE EFFECT EVEN IF THE ATTACKS MISS.

THE GAME IS JUST LACKING IN TECHNICAL ASPECTS WHICH COULD BE EASILY IMPROVED IF YOU MAKE A SECOND RELEASE, GREAT GAME OVERALL. GOOD JOB!