Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/CrystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users(username)\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\FlashPlayer\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounded.net\579000\579445_rpg.swf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.deviantart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


ElDavidElDavid

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 27, 2011

I am right now adicted to this game.

One suggestion: I wish some things could be skipped fo faster game-play. Like the fanfare bit when an opponent is defeated.


People find this review helpful!

SanguineVixenSanguineVixen

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 27, 2011

The back-up doesn't work

I like this game a lot, but I am sick of having to play from the beginning every time, and when I went to the back-up you put, it wasn't even a real page, according to my browser. Help, please?



CLAYMORE47kasCLAYMORE47kas

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 27, 2011

Help Please

I do not know how to fed my pet? Love the game



karate-kid-xkarate-kid-x

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 27, 2011

Kinda reminds me of something

Is it just me, or does this game kinda remind you of the old diablo, with the way you keep venturing deeper into one dungeon



pirateplatypuspirateplatypus

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 27, 2011

If only Square could still do it this good.

I absolutely love this game. It takes me back to the good ol' days when I'd spend entirely too much time playing FF VI.

The graphics are very pleasing. They're clean and reminiscent of old school RPGs without being overdone. The animation on attacks and magic is quite nice. They show enough to not feel minimal but aren't over the top making you feel like you're playing an animation with RPG elements.

The music is done very well. I usually mute Chrome and listen to my own tunes while I play flash games but with this game I actually found myself listening to the music in the background while I was doing other things (Not porn, I promise). The sound effects are fitting. I appreciate that the initial volume doesn't lead to bloody ears. I also appreciate that you've allowed for both SFX and music to be muted or have the volumes individually adjusted.

The gameplay is perfect. The character walks through the dungeon at a quick enough speed that I don't feel like I'm spending half my time waiting on it. The battle system is intuitive and quick. The interaction in the town works out pretty well. I really like the AP system. I enjoy being able to decide what class I want each character to act as. It really adds replay value to the game that each character has different elemental abilities.

The story while fairly simple is perfect for this length of RPG. I quite enjoyed the humourous elements in the story.

The weapon system is really cool. Though I wish there was a little more diversity in the stats of the weapons you can get. Like Eagyn, I found myself staying with the same weapon for ages and just levelling it up. Perhaps something like in Drakenguard where a terrible weapon becomes great if you take the time to level it up would be a good addition.

The game does seem to get a little bit repetitive. I think that could be remedied by increasing the difficulty as you get lower in the dungeon. It might also be better if you decreased the point requirement on some of the abilities so you can feel like you have more variety by growing you character as a different class.

The only other issue I have is that when selecting your ability in battle, it can be a little overwhelming to find the right attack when you've learned a bunch of abilities. Maybe you could sort them by class in the next game. That way if you've learned most of the Rogue abilities and some Mage abilities you can get to the mage abilities without having to go through all of the rogue abilities first.

All in all this is one of the coolest RPGs I've played in ages. I feel it's hands-down better than any FF game since VI. I really hope you decide to continue this series.


People find this review helpful!