Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/C rystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users\(username)\AppDa ta\Roaming\Macromedia\Fla sh Player\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounde d.net\579000\579445_rpg.s wf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.devian tart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


drakulamertcandrakulamertcan

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 26, 2012

is it just me or games are just getting greater and greater :D



ramerallenramerallen

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 20, 2012

THAT WAS A GREAT GAME BUT I ACCIDENTALY CLICK WINAMP AND THE PAGE WENT DOWN THEN WHEN I CAME BACK I DIDNT SAVED IT DARN BUT IT WAS A VERY GOOD GAMME 5 START FOR U MY FRIEND



AlexanderMaximusAlexanderMaximus

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 19, 2012

Love it. Addictingly simple. Introduction was well done, I'm not sleeping tonight!

^_^ Ty for making the game!


People find this review helpful!

marceloribeiro84marceloribeiro84

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 14, 2012

Great game. Addicting!


People find this review helpful!

aresmartyaresmarty

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 13, 2012

When someone makes an account JUST to write a review for your game, you know it's good.
Firstly, well done on making a great adventure game, you've really given Newgrounds.com and its people a HUGE life-waster! (Compliment) Second, I've yet to finish this, but I'm on the 12th floor, and I'm ready to go deeper.

So far, I can give you a 4/5 for Music/Sound. Sometimes the two can become their own categories, but I'll just stick them both into one for this game. The music was well-placed, and, though the transition (change in music) could have been smoother, it was all well chosen/made (not sure if it was original compositions or not). Your sound effects are amazing. They are well-timed, and fit every skill/attack that it binds with. Great job on your Music/Sound!

I'm very happy with your Graphics - which I've given a 5/5. Cartoon characters are usually a preference thing, but the reason why it grabs a 5/5 is because EVERYTHING is cartoony. Your visual continuity throughout the game really does make it shine because you're not forcing your audience to adjust to different things every now and then. There's no characters that look real, and it's not hard to tell what is what. Great job here, too!

OH!! Here's something I really wanna talk about: Classes. I'll be completely honest with you, I found that the classes weren't all too important in this game. Yes, to gain the more powerful attacks, you had to focus on the one class, but, in the end, you'd have access to all of them, anyway (if you leveled up 90 times <.<) If you were to make another game to succeed this one, you may want to keep in mind that, though players really like the 'choice-factor' (where they feel they have control over how they customize/make their characters), sometimes it's better for the game designer to restrict that kind of thing, to a certain point, so that players don't feel like they need to complete/unlock everything. I've given you a 4/5 for this section.

I'm not too sure what else to say, so I'll stop here. All-in-all, you've made an amazing game that will definitely become an instant favourite for many who have yet to play it. Really enjoyed it.
Good luck on your next one!


Lots of people find this review helpful!