Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/C rystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users\(username)\AppDa ta\Roaming\Macromedia\Fla sh Player\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounde d.net\579000\579445_rpg.s wf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.devian tart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


Anthrochamp12Anthrochamp12

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

amazingly good

i love playing games like these thank you ;3



JakBaronKingJakBaronKing

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

Hm. It might make a great DSi download game!

Since all the commands are touch and click based.

With enough work, it might even feature 3D effects for the 3DS!

The intro and story scenes could even be animated one day!

Great work guy!


People find this review helpful!

deathjesusdeathjesus

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

Very awsome

I have one Question, did you get the character names from the side characters from Final Fantasy: Mystic Quest? If not, that makes for a hilarious coincidence.


Lan14n responds:

That is a great game! First rpg I played! :D


CoyoteIncarnateCoyoteIncarnate

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

This game... It makes me so happy

It is fucking awesome and you are awesome for making it. I'm trying to think of a way to detract from it but I can't. The only thing I MIGHT change is make it so when they put ap points into a skill set that their stats go more with that skill set ? like you get a plus to attack for throwing AP into fighter or whatever ? but anyway amazing game.


Lan14n responds:

Every time you spend an AP on a tree, (some)skills under that tree should improve.


CSoul725CSoul725

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

well done, games like this are hard to come by

well...how can i start...
its nice to see a game like this one pop out in newgrounds, it has a really intense nostalgia felling to it, made me remember the old final fantasy games.
-Storywise its the same bread and butter of many RPGs "kill monsters,defeat villains, get loot yay :D!!!!" (which by no means is a bad thing).
-The characters/scenarios/stuff in general (bonus points for the enemy variety) are pretty well drawn (the only "problem" here is the lack of more action animations, even if these games are made to be "static" it fells kinda too "static" with only a hand full of gestures) about the characters themselves, they have personality (always a good thing) a trap that many games tend to fall for.
-The music fits nicely the game and does a great job managing to set up the ambient overall.
-Turn battles are well executed and custom characters are really welcome! being able to make your own team was a nice surprise! (+ replays)
-Extra stuff... i cant really say much here... "A f***TON OF STUFF" can wrap it up pretty well

final words: as a fan of retro rpgs i tried my best to be neutral while doing this review, this is a wonderful game but it can be even better. both autor and game have a serious potential that im really looking foward to see in the future!
(please make this a series of games :D)