Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/C rystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users\(username)\AppDa ta\Roaming\Macromedia\Fla sh Player\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounde d.net\579000\579445_rpg.s wf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.devian tart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


TheShadow007TheShadow007

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

Pretty decent game

Since I enjoyed the game a lot I'll also make a detailed list of bugs/likes/dislikes
First off the music. It is good but after a while it gets repetitive.
Second I love the graphic style of the game. It's just so cheerful and happy.
The plot was ok though you could've done a bit better with the character development.
The dungeon layout was pretty decent and had some variety.

Now for the things that bothered me.
1. Money is a bit too easy to get. This might sound weird but perhaps you overdid it with the gold rewards. Although you don't need to grind for hours for money like in some other games :)
2. Random monster spawning. I like the idea but on several occasions as soon as I entered a room I instantly entered battle. Maybe put some small invisible walls for the monster spawning.
3. Bosses. The bosses were fine aside from the fact that you could silence/sleep/heavily debuff them(not sure about the sleep). In my opinion they should be immune to those effects. That would make the game a bit more challenging.
4. Skill description. It would've been nice to mark the physical and magical. I can guess them but some people might not(not sure if all skills are considered magic)
5. Elemental resistances. It would've been nice if there were some elemental resistances but that's not much of a problem. It was funny to burn a phoenix to death with fire O.o
6.Weapons. I have no problem with them. Decent variety and strength.
7.A small bug. If you go very close to a chest and you are very slightly on it and if you then click in the center to get it, after the reward wherever you move the mouse the character follows it.(I mean that it's as if you are spamming the mouse button but without actually pressing at all) Bug is fixed after you click once with mouse

Well these are my impressions on the game. I hope you're not offended by some constructive criticism. Very fun game and hoping for a sequel .
5/5 10/10


People find this review helpful!

MarkmoonedgeMarkmoonedge

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

Great with its pros and cons...

Overall game was quite interesting, though there were parts were it got repetitive that it lacked the spice and vigor it possessed in the first... 20 floors? Another gripe is the chests thing mention by others earlier. When there is one in the room and monsters too, they disappear when you fight the monsters first... this is troublesome in tight corner rooms.

Also something the town portal which I'm not if it's fixed yet or not. Though when the option to teleport back to when I used the town scroll is given... my own game freezes. Also there should be more short cuts and key settings. Maybe use the control pad more since clicking on the mouse was getting annoying when navigating through certain rooms.

Side Quests and Minigames are fun... least till you play Zombie Defense.

Not even given a quick demonstration (unless I missed that somehow) when fending off the annoying zombie horde. In that minigame there is another control problem. For some reason whenever I click on some tiles to match them up... they will not be highlighted and will need to click on them repetitively to get them to be highlight.... plus that kind of puzzle game needs a bit of time to think of combos and such... I manage to beat easy to hard mode by pure luck and fast swapping that manage to work... Expert... you either need a world's worth of luck or very fast computer processing brain power with the speed to match.

Was a little disappointed in some of the bosses... after using the aoe buffs and debuffs... they became way too squishy and easy to handle... Is there any chance a Super Boss I may have miss?

Best beginning start with the class: Tristan as Rogue, Kali as Healer, Phoebe as Fighter, and Rueben as Mage. Though I wish you could chose their names from the start of the game... oh well...

Also the plot... feels like they were just instantly put together on a whim. Though they seem to get along in a weird... "I hate you guys" "Idiots stop ignoring me and help carry this loser" "HAMMER" and such kind of way.

Lose a point only due to the controls gripe.


People find this review helpful!

Happy-CavemanHappy-Caveman

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

Great game, make more

Very good! Nice characters and nice drawing style. I like how you can upgrade your items, so that you do not have to discard them in favour of another one.
I think it is a shame that the characters never get close to the enemy to perform a melee attack though, but other than that, and some sligth descriptive problems, it is a great game :)



RoareyeRoareye

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

Wow. Just wow.

I love all the references you've put in this game. Too bad some people don't get them, and thus lower the score. I've beat the game and I'm still exploring the cave. I'd like to ask you one thing, though - is there any point to play after beating the main boss?

Overall, I'd give the game a full ten, just for the sake of gameplay and memes. Still, it deserves a higher score than that.


People find this review helpful!
Lan14n responds:

Nope just an optional boss and medals.


applesauce89applesauce89

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

great but...

i think you should give this idea to a gaming company, and try to get it on some system.


People find this review helpful!