Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/C rystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users\(username)\AppDa ta\Roaming\Macromedia\Fla sh Player\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounde d.net\579000\579445_rpg.s wf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.devian tart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


applesauce89applesauce89

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

great but...

i think you should give this idea to a gaming company, and try to get it on some system.


People find this review helpful!

darkoniondarkonion

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

Finally a good game :D

Everything is very good, the gameplay, the battle system, the characters...
I hope u make a sequel with better menu designs, more jobs, better animations.
A sequel will be perfect if you upgrade that. I like the stats system too.



Metal-Sonic-XMetal-Sonic-X

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

Very solid game.

However, I agree with CurtyWurty below on how this game could be improved via an update or a sequel.

All in all, a solid game worth playing, and one that's going in my favorites to play again.



javiimanjaviiman

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

FTW

HOLY SHITTO i detected a castlevania song <3



curtywurtycurtywurty

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

Good game, borderline great.

I'd REALLY love to see you bring out a sequel, or even merely an updated version of this game, so I'm going to take my time to make some suggestions to features of which would DEFINITELY improve the game; I don't appreciate how difficult it is to include certain features, however, so I'm going to disregard how difficult I feel a certain feature would be to implement in your game.

- Firstly. The OPTION to apply attribute points wherever a player wants to, instead of a fixed leveling system; include an info-box showing Exactly what applying a point to a specific attribute will do.
(It is much more helpful to be able to specialise your own characters, based on their classes)

- Include SCROLL-OVER info boxes for EACH character in the inventory screen and (especially) the shop interface that compare the exact stats of the currently equipped item, to the one you're selecting/scrolling over.

- For each of the skills in the inventory screen AND during battle, include the mana cost of each spell/skill, and HOW MUCH damage they do (For example, how much poison damage the poison attack will inflict each turn). This is an ESSENTIAL requirement for an RPG.
As well as that, include the percentages that a skill will succeed. E.g. Stunning and poison - Show the percentage of how likely it will stun/poison the monster you're currently scrolling over.

- Show how much damage a basic attack will do for each character, in their Stats interface. You can base percentages off of this, then. i.e. "Poison will inflict 8% of the caster's basic attack damage each turn."

If these suggestions I have mentioned are implemented into your next RPG (and I'm hoping there will be one ;) ), then hoorah for us all :P

Now for my opinion :P
Your 'graphic style', it has room for improvement, sure, but it's at a very good standard as it is. There's a fairly good variety of monsters, and I personally liked the boss monsters; they were goofy and amusing, and actually a appropiately scaled challenge.

Keep it up, 'Lan', I hope you do well :)


People find this review helpful!