Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/C rystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users\(username)\AppDa ta\Roaming\Macromedia\Fla sh Player\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounde d.net\579000\579445_rpg.s wf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.devian tart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


Remiel25Remiel25

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 16, 2011

Nice :)

Crystal... Kaeli / Tristam / Phoebe ... i saw what you did there,
and in fact i like it, as a fan of mystic quest.
Good Work, back to the game now!


People find this review helpful!

DiabitusDiabitus

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 16, 2011

Nice Mystic Quest Reference!

Not only does this game remind me of the old SNES RPG''s I used to play, but you also named all four characters after characters from Final Fantasy: Mystic Quest.

Kudos to you!!


People find this review helpful!

MyDayToDieMyDayToDie

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 16, 2011

Fun!

Wow, somebody else actually played Final Fantasy: Mystic Quest!

This game is very well made. It's clear that a lot of time was put into making it, particularly the art and music.

The game play itself I found quite fun, although I'm a sucker for RPG's. I even get some sick joy out of mindless farming to accomplish a small goal. I was quite pleased that the leveling and combat wasn't over-complicated. On a console, a complex system is fine, but for a Flash game sometimes simpler is better. This game generally knew when to simplify, which is a rare trait.

That being said, the item system was a bit complex, it was just hard to decide whether to upgrade or buy new equipment. That and the overwhelming use of JRPG cliche characters is what cost you a 10.

Still, a great game. Worth sinking some time into.


People find this review helpful!

ricypogy20ricypogy20

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 16, 2011

kinda addicting......

well yeah......its i been addicted at this game.........the animations are good.....story line is good......and the music is good.....and i think if i found taht music ill download it :)...GOOD GAME!



JukkuJukku

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 16, 2011

-Looks at AP choices-... -Freaks out-

And then I went into the Inn and found out that there are AP resets, phew, very good feature for any RPG with deeper progression, so glad you have that in this game, makes me want to play it more already. In fact, I'm gonna get back to playing it right now!