Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/C rystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users\(username)\AppDa ta\Roaming\Macromedia\Fla sh Player\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounde d.net\579000\579445_rpg.s wf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.devian tart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


GoodlyMikeGoodlyMike

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 17, 2011

Amazing game!

You managed to combine a rogue-like game with the traditional RPG style gameplay and the end result is just fantastic! The art, characters, music, and skill building were all done very well. Great job!!



blackscarfxviblackscarfxvi

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 17, 2011

Good, but...

I see that everyone has complimented this game enough, so I'll offer some points that need improvement.

1. The battle system needs a "run" option. This is needed in case the party is low on health/mana and needs to escape quickly. This is especially irritating when enemies block and camp out near the doors, making battles unavoidable at times.

2. The zombie defense game needs a lot of improvement. I get a lot of lag on the harder difficulties when a large number of the ghouls swamp the screen. Perhaps if they moved slower, the minigame would be more enjoyable but at this point...

3. Several abilities imho seriously need more tweaking. When "blind" is used on the party it's crippling to the point of restarting. However, when the tables are turned with blind, the enemy is hardly affected by the status; what the hell?

Other than these points, the game is very enjoyable and addicting. I hope to see more work like this in the future. Good luck and have a nice day.


People find this review helpful!

logiebologiebo

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 17, 2011

Unbelievable Quality!

This RPG seems to cover everything that games these days miss: difficulty. Items and upgrades in the shop are layed out in a perfect way, so weapons can only go to certain characters. However, while getting better weapons/armor is easy, actually leveling up your character's stats is difficult. That is a compliment, by the way.

The battles are also at a perfect difficulty, because there is actually a way to master them. Even if your party is completely down with one character left, you can make it work. None of the bosses are pushovers, nor almighty gods (as far as I have played).



wicked-childwicked-child

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 17, 2011

i love it. :3

this reminds me of final fantasy. which just makes it more the awesome. i love this game though. i've been playing for hours!



SemiwolfSemiwolf

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 17, 2011

Amazing art shown in a game I'm speechless!

great game hope there's a sequel this game shows passion.