Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 9, 2011 | 12:54 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place September 10, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Conquer Forest Canopy 5 Points Beat all five levels of the 1st world
Conquer Lava Peaks 5 Points Beat all five levels of the 2nd world
Conquer Nimbus Basin 10 Points Beat all five levels of the 3rd world
Conquer Kingdom Outskirts 25 Points Beat all 4 levels of the 5th world
Conquer Starry Skies 25 Points Beat all five levels of the 4th world
First Blood Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Hoots Helping Hand Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Story Master Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cloud Creature Hunter Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Rich as a ...King Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
All the tricks in the book Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
King of the Clouds Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

"Kingdom in the Clouds" is an action/defense game complete with an upgrade system. You play as a young prince who must return with his sister after falling far from their kingdom in the clouds.

There are 5 different zones you must battle through before reaching your kingdom. Each zone, accompanied by its own unique art (RedHarvest) and music (thatcomposerguy), has 5 levels you must complete before advancing to the next. As you advance, the levels increase in difficulty. To beat the game you must successfully complete all levels and defeat the final wave.

To aid you in your journeys, the player is introduced to an upgrade system via a companion owl named "Hoot." The upgrades are a variety of both offensive and defensive skills. These include health upgrades for your character and your sister, a powerful wall in the form of a cloud, decreasing the amount of time that Hoot delivers helpful item drops, and a devastating zap attack!

MonoFlauta, RedHarvest, Seymour, and thatcomposerguy, want to thank you for playing and hope that you enjoy "Kingdom in the Clouds!"

EDIT 10/09/11 - Thanks Tom for the front page! Also now all the medals are approve :)

Reviews


MatthewFMatthewF

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 13, 2011

OK could have been better

The lag after the forest stage is very noticeable even on a dell optiplex 745. The upgrades mostly are worthless. The cloud attack only speeds up by a fraction of a second from when it is maxed as compared to when it is at starting level. The cloud barrier is durable at first until you come to the last area and ahve to deal with the wrestler. The other enemy with a rocket takes half your life away but only takes on hit to kill but good luck as the enemies bunch up and it is hard to hit it. There is a 3 second delay in firing the thunder attack and let me tell you there is nothing more irritating than hammering the S key trying to get it to fire when your little girl is being assaulted as you are now out of cloud barriers that disappear after one hit from the wrestler and she dies before the game even registers the attack. I swear I lost the last level twice just due to that delay.

Also the keys for these attacks are too close together. Attempting to hit the cloud barrier button and hitting S and wasting a lightning attack is incredibly irritating.

Some things that could have been improved: Ability to jump while carrying the girl, no dealy in lightning attack (you already charged it up so whats the deal?), nerf the rocket bomber, space out attack keys and remove the lag.


People find this review helpful!

CrawlingKingSnakeCrawlingKingSnake

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 13, 2011

Absolutely awful difficulty curve.

In the forest, it's too easy. Then about midway through the lava world it gets frustratingly hard. This is only made worse by the near-useless upgrades that barely seem to do anything at all. Cloud walls quickly get overwhelmed, the cloud blast (Your main weapon!) is pitifully weak, never gets any stronger to compensate for the ever-increasing amount of enemies, and its speed increases are hardly noticeable. I have no idea how the lightning attack works out since I either finished the level or died before it ever charged up enough for me to use it.

The ability to move your sister is useless as well. Since you can't jump, and enemies can come from any side of the screen at any time, all that ever happened was I picked her up and got killed trying to move her.

After I pushed my way through to the beginning of the first cloud world, I realized I was just playing for the medals at that point, and quit the game altogether. It looks okay, and it's an interesting idea, but the execution left a lot to be desired.


People find this review helpful!

WackWeeperWackWeeper

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 13, 2011

uhmm...

sori man but the game is kind of an epic fail...no doubt the animation and graphics seems appealing, but other aspects of it, especially the storyline has flaws. i mean he's the PRINCE of " C L O U D L A N D " and no one would even dare to go down and save him?! i mean if it was obama in iraq, then no doubt the american army would go there to retireve him. and wat the hell's the king doing? hoping the prince would die too so he can be the ruler of cloudland...? oh wait...he is the ruler of cloudland...

i also had some problem with the gameplay...its quite difficult, repetative, and there are times the guy moves without my command.

i hope you'll be making greater flash games in the future. :)


People find this review helpful!

Holo-CatHolo-Cat

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 13, 2011

Good but...

This game had some very good voice acting apart from the repeated combat dialogue. My only issues with the game are the firing rate, and the frustration brought on from dying over and over again in later levels even with max'd out cloud attack and zap attack, making the intitial enemies like the clouds have only one hit point could round out the difficulty for this game. Apart from that not bad.



HareTrinityHareTrinity

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 12, 2011

Mneh...

I didn't play far but expect my star rating would have just gone down if I had.

Slow cloud firing and the upgrade didn't seem to do ANYTHING... Picking up your sister was entirely pointless, as Sprouticus-Maximus already pointed out, and there's no reason to teach it at the start as she's BEST OFF in the middle of the screen.

There's some potential but it's really too slow without enough catchy elements (song, gameplay, story, characters, etc).


People find this review helpful!