Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 9, 2011 | 12:54 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place September 10, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Conquer Forest Canopy 5 Points Beat all five levels of the 1st world
Conquer Lava Peaks 5 Points Beat all five levels of the 2nd world
Conquer Nimbus Basin 10 Points Beat all five levels of the 3rd world
Conquer Kingdom Outskirts 25 Points Beat all 4 levels of the 5th world
Conquer Starry Skies 25 Points Beat all five levels of the 4th world
First Blood Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Hoots Helping Hand Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Story Master Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cloud Creature Hunter Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Rich as a ...King Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
All the tricks in the book Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
King of the Clouds Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

"Kingdom in the Clouds" is an action/defense game complete with an upgrade system. You play as a young prince who must return with his sister after falling far from their kingdom in the clouds.

There are 5 different zones you must battle through before reaching your kingdom. Each zone, accompanied by its own unique art (RedHarvest) and music (thatcomposerguy), has 5 levels you must complete before advancing to the next. As you advance, the levels increase in difficulty. To beat the game you must successfully complete all levels and defeat the final wave.

To aid you in your journeys, the player is introduced to an upgrade system via a companion owl named "Hoot." The upgrades are a variety of both offensive and defensive skills. These include health upgrades for your character and your sister, a powerful wall in the form of a cloud, decreasing the amount of time that Hoot delivers helpful item drops, and a devastating zap attack!

MonoFlauta, RedHarvest, Seymour, and thatcomposerguy, want to thank you for playing and hope that you enjoy "Kingdom in the Clouds!"

EDIT 10/09/11 - Thanks Tom for the front page! Also now all the medals are approve :)

Reviews


ZephyrCinemaZephyrCinema

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 14, 2011

A bit too slow

Hmm... there appears to be no indicator for taking damage. The prince doesnt make a sound, and no visual effects are shown either. I died without knowing a few times before I quit, because the game was boring me.

also, the game doesn't include too much anythingm does it.



aaron9999920aaron9999920

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 14, 2011

Ehhhh

It was alright, you might have put a lot of work into it, but as a video game that is supposed to entertain, it lost me. I don't want to grind all day just to get anywhere. The difficulty curve is too steep, just because three or four people out of the 59 reviews say that they think its a good curve, while all the others say it isn't, does not make it good.

Now, I understand you put a lot of work into it, and graphically and mechanically it shows, but the idea gets stale after about four levels. The upgrade system was not very good, you either had to grind early levels or do the later levels just right with a good amount of luck thrown in. There should have been a way to make your basic attack stronger. if you placed a wall and had three enemies build up behind it, then the ones behind you coming in, you died, the clouds were so weak there was no way to try and wipe out a wave coming at you unless you used your lightning. When we spend in game money on an ability we want to not just know that it has changed in some way, we want to be able to see its effects in game and feel that it was worth it.

Carrying your sister and jumping were completely useless, if you jumped, all you did was waste valuable time you could have spent shooting, same with carrying your sister, it just was worthless.

It needed more story or more elements to really entertain me, such as how did he end up moving from level to level? the guy couldn't even jump with his sister, do you expect me to believe he carried her up all those mountain slopes? Other than the adding of new enemies every 6-9 levels it was one of the most repetitive games I have ever played.

Now, for the good stuff. It was a great idea, maybe add some obstacles, an ability to throw your sister. just more elements in general. The graphics were very pleasing if a little too cutesy for my liking, also the sound effects i liked very well, maybe have someone with a manlier voice doing voice overs? It was a lot of fun for the first few levels, and you could tell someone put a lot of work into the mechanics of the game.

I feel like the cons outweighed the pros of the game. I rated five out of ten just for the fact that while I was on the whole unsatisfied with the game, it was an interesting concept, and I could tell you put a lot of work into it. I really look forward to your future submissions, I hope you can take constructive criticism well and learn and grow as a flash artist.

-Aaron


People find this review helpful!

kctecsonkctecson

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars September 14, 2011

TOO HARD

I think I've wasted enough time playing this. I tried too many times but it's just so damn hard :| the upgrades don't even make any difference. It's a cool concept but IT'S HARDDDDDD. TOO HARD I'm not enjoying anymore.



xPaleRiderxxPaleRiderx

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 13, 2011

Great Effort with Mixed Feelings!

I really like the effort you put into the art style, voice work, music etc. It all executed really well and makes for a great gaming atmosphere.
The constructive criticism I have is about the general game play, controls, and whole upgrade system.
The controls don't seem very tight, and they almost feel a little laggy.
As for the upgrades, I, like Hellboy2010 below, can't see / feel any change in any that were purchased. The enemies seemed to level up pretty quickly so I finally decided to play some of the lower levels to earn emeralds (which give you the same amount as the higher levels, only one!) There should be more reward for completing the more difficult levels.
Anyway, all in all your hard work is well appreciated and I will definitely be on the lookout for more of your future submissions.
Thanks!



ClydeArkClydeArk

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 13, 2011

Too difficult.

Believe me when I say I tried. I tried and I tried to complete the game, but there's just a point where it's impossible. Either up the cloud's power/speed or make the zap power reload a little quicker. There's just no way to defeat everything when they move in groups.


People find this review helpful!