Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 28, 2011 | 5:44 AM EDT
  • Underdog of the Week August 31, 2011
  • Daily 2nd Place August 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

some words for those who still can read and still can change something:

We all have a dream. We can call it understanding of truth or connection with god or accord to the Great order- it doesn't really matter. And we all are trying to match it in some way.
Sometimes there are powerfull advisers coming to guide us.
Here comes a really BIG question: will you follow the authority or follow your heart?
Yes, this movie is full of picture and sound symbols, yes, it's about loneliness in modern society, yes it is about keeping nature clear and returning to Great harmony, yes it's about technocracy and global addiction to technologies, and about religion...
Tell me, what do you see here, how do you understand this animation.

Music: Kasim Keto
Visual and sounds: Ace0fredspades
Additional sounds: freesound.org
+Edit+
2nd daily! Thank you all, people! And thank you very much for your long reviews!
+Edia uh-gain+
Allright- "underdog of the week", I've just read what does that means.
Ok, that award clearly separated those who can watch, think and express their opinion from those, who can just watch.
Anyway award is award, thank you very much for interesting reviews and if you have questions on what did I really mean creating this- write me a PM.

Reviews


AndyAmbiguityAndyAmbiguity

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

So much meaning. So much to process.

But all I want to take from this is our need to get back to the simple life. So I went back and played Chrono Trigger.

Short review?
Damn right.


People find this review helpful!

MartyVintage91MartyVintage91

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Very deep

Maybe i'm just being cheesy but what I see in there is that you can just sit there and follow the lead that was imposed to you OR you can get up and make your own light so you can shine by yourself. I also believe that the world is made brighter by the people who actually make their move. Maybe I search to far or maybe i'm just out of the track but hey? That's not what art is supposed to be for? Nice work, about everything.


People find this review helpful!

cgcdesigncgcdesign

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

For something about disharmony...

...everything about this syncs pretty well, from music to visuals.

It's the artists remastering of Spirit Science, but letting the viewer choose what they want to see in it...

I'm not sure if I should be wanting more or just content with the idea of wanting more...



NobleMANNGNobleMANNG

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Gets by without words because it's art

Perfect submission, I don't even need words to be moved by it. As an engineering student 5 minutes away from nature's paradise, this movie meant a lot to me. If only our world could be as simple.
There's nothing inherently wrong with the lightbulb, the triangles fascination is what's alarming. I don't think throwing technology into the ground is the path to enlightenment, but technology certainly must be seen as an aid rather than a path.
Very nice, I guess I'll check out your other submissions now


People find this review helpful!

AKS9AKS9

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 29, 2011

thank you Ace0fredspades

Thank you for this. This is the kind of animation I thirst for, what I wish my animation to be like and the kind of thing whose absence keeps me away from NG. It makes me want to animate again, awakens me to my desire to make meaningful art through animation and my beliefs that it can be one of the most powerful and sincere art_forms, not to mention one of the most interesting. shit i love animating..)
I really like the use of textures. Timing, scening, acting, music. The animation was flowy and not overdone nor underdone.
I understand your loneliness. You don't express much of the pain of a lonely person, instead it seems to show a story told from the outside, a larger general view.
I see lots of myself in this animation. It makes me want to deepen into the things that really matter to me, to find more balance inside myself. In you I see a soul that sees the blight on earth and suffers with it. In myself, i feel lost as to how to address the outer world. Make things better?
make art, find peace inside, thats all i know
maybe you have another perspective

my interpretation:

The sun is Dream/God/Etc, and Pyramid is interested in watching the sun, and perceiving/ framing/ conceptualising /understanding / enjoying / aligning with sun in whatever way he can.

Cube represents superficiality/techno-blindness/flash ness/the thing Adobe became/ the thing people mistake Apple for / pursuing symbols instead of their referents / evil.

I like the way StayDynamic sees it, though I would just say that Pyramid originally was more interested in ascending to heaven than harmonising with the earth. This obsession with ascension is what eventually let him to go astray and be so influenced by Cube.

He eventually sees what he is doing to himself, destroys Cube's hypnotic sensual hook and returns it to nature, and in doing so seeks a balance between harmonising and descending with the earth, and ascending to the heavenly sun (as we see with the sun and tree mixed together).


People find this review helpful!