Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 28, 2011 | 5:44 AM EDT
  • Underdog of the Week August 31, 2011
  • Daily 2nd Place August 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

some words for those who still can read and still can change something:

We all have a dream. We can call it understanding of truth or connection with god or accord to the Great order- it doesn't really matter. And we all are trying to match it in some way.
Sometimes there are powerfull advisers coming to guide us.
Here comes a really BIG question: will you follow the authority or follow your heart?
Yes, this movie is full of picture and sound symbols, yes, it's about loneliness in modern society, yes it is about keeping nature clear and returning to Great harmony, yes it's about technocracy and global addiction to technologies, and about religion...
Tell me, what do you see here, how do you understand this animation.

Music: Kasim Keto
Visual and sounds: Ace0fredspades
Additional sounds: freesound.org
+Edit+
2nd daily! Thank you all, people! And thank you very much for your long reviews!
+Edia uh-gain+
Allright- "underdog of the week", I've just read what does that means.
Ok, that award clearly separated those who can watch, think and express their opinion from those, who can just watch.
Anyway award is award, thank you very much for interesting reviews and if you have questions on what did I really mean creating this- write me a PM.

Reviews


NixterTNixterT

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

Nice!

It was a very nice short animation, I like it alot, I wonder how the triangle headed dude can withstand staring into the sun and a light bulb for like a whole day...



azn5azn5

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

NICE

Interesting concept. I like it.



charge301charge301

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

I GET IT!!!

I get it now. The sun is the ultimite source of energy and nothing, not even the science of light can replace it. I like pie.



FierywrynFierywryn

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Interesting...

But you'd do better to develop your metaphors/analogies better - simply because these symbols are the very raw and basic elements of the message you're trying to convey and nothing complex or new. All in all, this is well done but rather plain, even though that does technically help convey the message better (which you decided to blatantly explain in the comments, so that's not really an excuse for over simplification).

Also, I'm inclined to disagree with one point on your opinion (not disagreeing with whatever religion you have, as I cannot prove it either way). Should we follow authority or our own heart? It's a broad and risky statement, which is great, but sometimes guidance is needed where human selfishness takes over so I'd say neither answer is always right.

Ultimately, I think you're right in saying technology is responsible (and therefore humans are responsible through technology) for much of the destruction of nature. HOWEVER, humans were destroying nature long before "technology," though perhaps not as rapidly, and there's really no way to stop human progress. I'm a little tired of people shouting out against modern society when they should be directing it instead.


People find this review helpful!

RiltinRiltin

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Neat.

My interpretation would be ..

Fulfilling one's proper function brings happiness. One's proper function is to become as wise as possible, while admittedly knowing nothing, as to deter the corruptive influence of power. One needs to continue following that path, despite it seeming bothersome, rejecting power, and thus corruption, as much as possible.

Desire, being the corrupting influence it tends to be, often lures us to seek the easy way around things, which can be accomplished with power. Giving into desire, thusly, leads to the breakdown of proper function, inevitably, and causes the power which we desired to corrupt us should we allow it to do so.

In doing so, virtue found in the act of bettering one's function through wisdom is often lost to the corruptive influence of power, and, in rare cases, leads one to seek redemption when things backfire. Power is capable of harm, and thus, redemption is a natural course to seek. For those rare individuals who have grasped the reigns of power and have had it taken from them, they will meditate on these events. In time, they may be able to cure themselves of their corruption.

Oftentimes, it is left to the offspring of the individual to learn from the mistakes of the parent. Two things never change, however. War and human nature. Thusly, the cycle, inevitably, continues. Those who are introduced to power will continue to be corrupted. All that can be done is the simple act of bettering oneself through wisdom. All that can be done is to pursue one's proper function.

Am I doing it right?


People find this review helpful!