Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 28, 2011 | 12:53 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 31, 2011
  • Daily Feature August 29, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

By now you're wondering, "Wow! What talent! Amazing! Sensational! This man should work for (Insert Animation Company Here)!" If you didn't, I not surprised. Because I'M the only one wondering that.
What you see before you is ME(yes, me), as a cartoon, chasing a remote that has the mind bending powers to make me transform into any character I want. I just wanted to see if I could animate several different art styles as a challenge. This was more for practice.
This is the short Newgrounds version of my video. I plan on releasing more footage and more character designs. That's where you come in:

Below, post any character or art style you want me to transform into. I'll make a post on whether the style's been already placed in the movie or not. Send this to your friend and family! Spread the word and give me ideas. I want ideas from the fans! These will be used in the final version. Use your imagination, such as an art style from:
-TV Show
-Video Game
-Magazine
-Particular Artist
-Or you're own style...maybe...

Characters used in this video belong to:
-The Brothers Chaps
-Butch Hardman
-Niko Anesti
-Matt Wilson
-Bryan Lee O'Mailley
-Disney
-Trey Parker and Matt Stone
-Gigi D' Agostino
-Nintendo
-Capcom
-Namco
-Clone High
-BezerroBezarro
-The Japanese
-Craig McCracken
-Edd Gould
-Weebl

Want the music? Here it is: https://8bc.org/members/S ievert/

Don't worry. If I don't respond to your review, it doesn't mean I didn't read and appreciate it. I've read them all...twice!

Please enjoy and try not to hate me!
Mike Southmoor

EDIT: Before you guys say this is the most unoriginal idea JUST because I'm drawing characters from TV shows/flash cartoons, I must point out that I incorporated some of MY designs into this so that it balances out.

P.S. DAILY AND WEEKLY FIRST!!!! FRONT PAGE!!! *faints* THANKS FULP AND FRIENDS!

Reviews


ZullzeeZullzee

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 29, 2011

Wow, great idea

That was pretty cool, and you nailed the styles down well. I LOVED that classic 30's version, I was disappointed he moved off the screen so quickly, should of gave him more screen time! He was also the most well animated out of the bunch.

And I can't believe you didn't do Simpson's style, come on what's wrong with you!? Haha, well for suggestions, Spumco would be interesting, Filmation style covers a whole era, and rotoscoping yourself could be pretty neat.
If you really wanna challenge yourself you can try theatrical Disney style.



neocreyneocrey

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 29, 2011

Like it!)

Simply clever)



Epicnesslover01Epicnesslover01

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 29, 2011

Nice animation.

That was certainly transformation. Rather cute and smooth transformations, I might add.

@sandford
At number 7, um, well... last time I checked, that's how all Fairly Odd Parents' character's legs look like. ._.



SeeladSeelad

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

Grand.

I loved it, I could recognize where a lot of the styles have been used in. I'm surprised you were able to draw all those styles the way you did. I guess you're quite talented in drawing different styles of animation.



sandfordsandford

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

Near perfect

This video was a really great idea and is completely original in the concept of it.

But seeing as I do not like to be like the rest of the crowd, I do have to critique the video in a kindly manor.

First few things entail the starting scene before we even start transforming...like at the loading screen, I can understand you wanting the walking guy to walk so as to keep us a little less bored while it loads, but his foot movements are too big and too fast for him to be walking that slow. And I do understand the concept of forgetting the reality when watching a movie so as to enjoy it, but I find that hard sometimes.

1. The next issue I hold is with the guys hair/hat combo. To me, it looks weird, it doesn't look bad, but it just doesn't seem to be right. I think this may have to do with a future critique...
2. The only other thing with the first scene is with the guy's shoes. Two things I see with them:
a. The shoes have no defining outline so they tend to blend into the floor.
b. The shadow does not seem to properly line up to the shoes as he walks,
but this is just a minor detail that is rather hard to notice.
3. The next issue I hold is with his #1 change. What makes him fall over? I mean, all I see is him look behind himself and then, wo...a...w arg, I fell.
4. The only issue I hold with his #2 change is his feet again. His farthest foot(right I think) seems to be broken or at an odd angle as if the pencil slipped in your hand.
5. His #3 change is alright, but his mouth just seems to be either missing, or is it that thing that looks like a nose? I can understand if there is no mouth, but if there is, I sure don't see it.
6. His #4 change is pretty darn epic if I do say so. I see nothing wrong with it.
7. His #5 change is alright, but not the best. A few things wrong:
a. His spike of a hair due seems to be jutting out towards his hand a little too
much. This could be a resultant of (b).
b. His arm holding the transmogrification machine seems way too
disproportionate to the rest of his body. This could be from (a).
c. His feet again. The way he is standing, his right foot should be the bigger of the
two. Well, his left is bigger and this makes it seem like he is crossing his legs
as if he was holding something in.
8. His #6 change is good. But, I am just unsure what the heck he is?
9. His #7 change was really short, but I seemed to notice that he like squishes down onto the floor as if he dropped from 100 stories above. Was this intentional or was it something else. It just makes it seem really odd to me.
10. His #8 change is mediocre. What was he? Paper that was depressed? Also, why does it seem that the left side of his shirt is sticking out like it was starched into place?
11. His #9 change was interesting. What is that thing he has above his head?(Not his hat) And it seems like there is a square plate in behind his head...
12. His #10 change was good. Only one issue, what is on his pants in his "man" area? It seems like he spilled something onto them there.
13. His #11 change was terrific! I loved that style of animation and wish that more artists would use it.
14. His #12 change was good and simple. No issues here.
15. His #13 change was mediocre. The lemon thing was not really walking all that well. He was just kind of hopping around.
16. His #14 change was good and simple.
17. His #15 change was alright. South Park has never really been big with me, but you seemed to retain its style well.
18. His #16 change was interesting. The green thing seemed to hobble with a gimp left leg.
19. His #17 change was good. No problems here.
20. His #18 and #19 change were good. What was he as both?
21. His #20 change was a real classic with gray hair. Nice move with that.
22. His #21 change was interesting. What was he? +1 star
23. His #22 change was by all means a scourge on this video. Who was that and why can't he walk?
24. His #23 change was simple yet intuitive.
25. His #24 change is just way too simple. Needs some more depth to him.
26. I am out of room...arg. The rest is in a pm to you.


People find this review helpful!
VieRickend responds:

Thanks again for the critique. I made a couple edits to the video if you want to take a look.