Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 27, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick August 31, 2011
  • Daily 2nd Place August 28, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Children are often inspired by everything around them. In the same family as the Monster Engine, the Creaturing Project is about taking the art of children (grades 1-6) and reimagining it through the eyes of seasoned Newground's artists.

To learn more about the project, you can visit the temp site : creaturing.micklauer.com
For the official site (unfinished) : www.creaturing.com

Reviews


SpelingChampSpelingChamp

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Fantastic

Just, tell whoever drew that caterpillar like thing that the children don't see it as some horrible monster. I mean that one's just kinda creepy.



TheSilentMachineTheSilentMachine

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Childhood...

Awesome. Purely awesome.



TharosTheDragonTharosTheDragon

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Magnificent

I just checked out the Monster Engine, and I must say your work is fantastically better than Dave DeVries'. Here's why.

DeVries starts with the kid's drawing and literally uses it as the outline for his. He takes the shape the kid creates and fills it in with nice realistic shading and applies backgrounds and such. It's little more than a parlor trick. He's going through the motions like he does in his job as an industrial artist, using little more creativity than some street artist drawing cartoony portraits of people.

But the kids don't know anything about perspective or proportion, so why would you count their drawings as an accurate idea of how these things they're imagining are shaped? I remember being a kid and not knowing the first thing about drawing something to really resemble an object from my imagination. You Newgrounds artists have used your own creativity and imagination to figure out what the kids might really have wanted to draw. DeVries looked at a kid's drawing. You looked at a kid's vision.

DeVries may have failed because, despite all his talk, he's forgotten how to really see through a child's eyes. You Newgrounds artists haven't forgotten at all.


People find this review helpful!
RicePirate responds:

I really appreciate the kind words. I did love the idea behind the Monster Engine.

But for a number of the reasons you listed, I thought this would be a fun sister-project. Rather than copying the line art and filling in the gaps, to have artists go the distance of fully embracing their characters and giving them their own life... I thought would be really exciting. And you're right, these artists really did it. I'm so grateful to these artists.

I just really hope it's seen less as "Hey kid, watch me make a better version." and more of a "Your imagination inspired me to create this version."

One of my favorite parts of this whole project (it's still very much in it's infancy), is seeing the variety of styles each artist brings to the table. Variety of style is something that (while I really respect Dave's talent) I would have liked to have seen in the Monster Engine.


BanditoManBanditoMan

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

wow..

That was actually very touching and I liked it a lot



DashillDashill

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

^_^

Look at that. This really made me smile and gave me a feeling of being proud of our children and Newgrounds. This project is amazing, it's so fun to see how the potential of such drawings are worked out. Amazing!