Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


SupaMarioFanSupaMarioFan

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

Just awesome

Very good atmosphere you got there.
Loved this OST, as for original comics.

Spent time was worth it, Hae-Joon Lee. :)



rosedragonessrosedragoness

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 6, 2011

wow

this deserve to win the contest.. :3


People find this review helpful!

Dan71313Dan71313

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

that was great...

... if you know about rat man. there are a lot of pricks who don't know what they're watching and write a mindless review because they haven't read the comic or played the game. This is amazing! Don't listen to them! This deserves a solid 10. I can tell how hard you worked on this and I hope you don't let those losers get to you. Keep up the good work. :)


People find this review helpful!

JiromazuJiromazu

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Words can't describe this

Awesome, wonderful, amazing, this is the best of all animations that I ever see in Portal tributes with a romantic and tragic ending!!!


People find this review helpful!

SuperNumber777SuperNumber777

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Incredible

This was simply... Incredible. And I love this song! Great work, sir