Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


WILSONKILERWILSONKILER

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

wow...

this explains alot to me of the storyline of portal 1 and 2.Nice animation i hope to see big things from u



ArchusXArchusX

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Rat Man

We Salute you Rat Man, your sacrifice will be for ever known! D:


People find this review helpful!

flyngspagettimonsterflyngspagettimonster

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 5, 2013

This film is very touching and puts an exact realization to the ending of Portal & the beginning of Portal 2 Great work I would love to see more!



TheKarasagiTheKarasagi

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 1, 2011

I just... wow

I mean really. I didn't know about this til now... and you did awesome



cipher61cipher61

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 29, 2011

never.

i have never seen something so beautiful in my life that was of Portal 2. thank you so much for posting this. i am sorry to hear you missed the date for the entry but i bet you would have won if you did. again great fucking job!


People find this review helpful!