Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


AnyRandomGuy90AnyRandomGuy90

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 8, 2012

I hope there will be a portal 3



cldgod9889cldgod9889

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 29, 2011

I rarely write a review of anything, but....

This video deserved one. It is amazing. The style is beautiful, and it fits the song so perfectly. This would have done so fantastically in the video contest. you said that you finished it August 6th, how long did it take you to work on it? I am in absolute awe, and have shown this to quite a few of my friends. I would like to say i was blown away by the combination of styles together giving it unique feel, just like the game, to which I say it pays a glorious homage to. Def one of my favorites.


People find this review helpful!

OddSocksOddSocks

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

Sent chills down my spine

..as Ratman was running down the corridoor to save Chell. This gave me the exact same feeling as reading the Ratman comic after completing Portal 2.. just more intense. Captured the (tragic) story of Ratman perfectly. Not to mention I loved the animation style, and I can tell it was a huge achievement... where you got the inspiration for doing this I don't know.

<3


People find this review helpful!

CorruptMonkeyCorruptMonkey

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 3, 2011

It was AWESOME! and some information from people

Loved the animation! It suited Rattman alot! And just so people the story is taken from the Rattman comics made by Valve which tell the story of what happened between Portal and Portal 2, except it ended a bit differently. he crawled into a cryo-sleep chamber at the end of the comic making you guess if he was alive or dead ;)

The only thing which I would mark this down for was the lack of a role of the companion cube in the video! But its hard to portray a talking cube in a music video so I won't mark you down for it ^.^



LegolaSSLegolaSS

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

i love how you have kept to the comic...

it nice too see flashes and animation based on things we already know... but most people tend to drift from the original source. however you have kept to the script of the comic... adding in details from both games and keeping in theme the whole way though... a massive well done along with getting hold of a real life chell!

10/10 as i am afraid i can not vote any higher... superb work!


People find this review helpful!