Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


OmrikonOmrikon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Very nice indeed. Neat angle on the Portal story

The writing on the walls in the Portal games is something I generally appreciated, but I usually assumed it was just explained as "someone else who was trapped there and is granting some assistance." This take manages to portray it as the aid of someone who values Chell and her success, an actual friend. Just the thought that someone has been doing what they can to help you out in the transhuman techno-disaster story that is Portal makes that assistance akin to finding water in the desert.
It'd be a damn interesting twist, that's for sure.


People find this review helpful!

ConnithConnith

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 4, 2011

Wow... emotional...

This was a very successful attempt at making an excuse for why that writing was on the walls and such. If you are a half-life fan and have played the amazing puzzler you may understand what's going on. It's a shame you couldn't publish it in time for the contest.
Just to be sure, its about some man who probably survived GLaDOS harsh personality and was deep down with the horror robot and her new found test subject. He fell in love with her, an attempted to help her escape not wanting her to fall for the traps too come. He paints guides and repeatedly makes the sentence out loud and clear, "The Cake s a Lie". Soon after the female test subject test subject was close to the surface, only to find GLaDOS' lair and GLaDOS herself standing in the way. After confronting the AI, half the entire facility of Aperture Science broke apart at the failure of a leading AI, and the test subject was found laying unconscious on the surface of earth. The weakened scientist survivor found her being dragged back inside. He followed the body, to find that it was just laying there in a chamber, for the body to rot or so. He had tried getting to the controls to activate the freezing with thus liquid nitrogen or such. One perfect turret, filled with bullets, was standing in the way. He couldn't let the test subject die. He grew to emotionally attached and sacrificed himself running past the turret, being shot horribly. Still crawling his way to the controls,
he activates the chambers liquid nitrogen process. He dies, thus (I am assuming it was 500 years?) many years later, the female test subject is awakened by an AI named Wheatly.
Amazing, and for those of you rare ones that come confused at this brilliant aspect from a scientest, read what i wrote above ^. 5/5. 9/10.

P.S. You sort of made the test subject look like an actual human being.


People find this review helpful!

SCTE3SCTE3

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Inspiring

Well I think this was a rather detailed piece of work and it took you a long time to work on it too. Looks like it was mostly done by hand and very well detailed. I guess it would have been better had you added a few frames showing the end of Rattman finding the cube again and going into permanent cryogenic sleep before dying peacefully knowing Chell would be able to live and escape one day.

The animation looks like it took quite awhile and I was rather happy to see this. Very nice piece of work and I loved that song the first time I played Portal 2, congrats on front page and the hard work doing this piece, awesome!!

Overall, wonderful piece!!


People find this review helpful!

3GreyLeaves3GreyLeaves

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 1, 2011

Lacks something

I love this in the sense of how much work was put into it. I apriciate all the work you put into it exept your stop-motion. It worked for the consept of this video but it lacked life. Like at the beginning, it was basicly snap shots that were plopped together, and if there was any movement, it went from one spot to another and that was it.
I did notice though that by the end you tried to work on that but it still needs some work. Stop-motion is probobly the most time consuming styles of film so I can understand why you may have, or wanted to rushed it, but for future projects, try to put some life into it.
Also, what was the hardest scene to do? I can see the filming around the hand at the end to be a bit of a hastle but was there a scene where your clay wasn't cooperating? or kept falling? I'm interested.


People find this review helpful!
faceofdoomness responds:

I had a feeling someone was gonna notice that...

Well there were definitely the time constraints that everyone knows about but one of the big reasons why the puppet's movement seems stiff is because I didn't have a program to help me capture the stop motion frames.

With the program I can toggle between frames to see how good the movement is and to see if anything unnecessary moved. I didn't have the benefit of the program so I had to do it all by eye and the small touch screen of my camcorder.

In terms of stop motion, the toughest scene was the movements that Rat Man does that was supposed to loop "seamlessly." Like the frames where he's running and the part where he drags himself on the ground while facing the camera. I was surprised they looped as "good" as they did. If I had the time I would've re-filmed those frames but my time for the video and my time in Korea was short. (I had the perfect set up in the living room of my family's apartment.)

In terms of compositing, the part where he falls through the ground was the hardest. I had to mask out where I wanted the ground chunks to be "in front" of Rat Man and the Companion Cube as they fell. Spent days masking those layers in After Effects.

I hope this response is helpful.

(also if you want to see the puppet with more of a "life" to it, check out a short I did on my youtube entitled "To Rid Oneself of Ennui." I'm probably going to test out the limits of this puppet more during school to see exactly how much I can express through it.)


seppe2468seppe2468

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Does the song justice

the story was well thought of and was touching overall,
the animation style combined with some other styles gave the whole
video a unique feel, good work ;)