Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


cliffmillercliffmiller

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

Simply great.

I personally think this is better than the video that won the contest for this.


People find this review helpful!

CromeDragonCromeDragon

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Touches the heart!

you must be an asshole and a idiot to not like this and give it less then a 9!
my deepest thanks!!


People find this review helpful!

Thenumber23pwndThenumber23pwnd

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Wow. I........Wow

Excellent excellent excellent. I have nothing better too say! I loved the story the song seemed to fit it together, and it was just a nice tie in to the Portal story! very nice you get a 5 and 10 for that my friend.


People find this review helpful!

JerryfurokJerryfurok

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Awesome!

I certainly loved the video and it was a great twist to the portal universe!

Keep up the good work!



BigLoveBigLove

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

At a loss for words

Amazing job. You've recreated the Rat Man's last moments perfectly.