Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


DailonMannDailonMann

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

DUDE.

I googled the Valve Music Video contest, and while you didn't win, they put yours up there noting that you were a late entry they were very partial to. Just letting you know.



BobIsRightBobIsRight

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

Amazing

The time you spend on this was worthing it. And I'm not saying this because it's entertainning the web, but because it was touching, well done. It follows the storylines and put a lil' more that Valve wasn't able to do. The concept of putting styles such as puppets, stop-motions, live action sequences make it a unique chef-d'oeuvre. The only thing that I dislike is that you didn't finish it for the competition, because more people would have seen your art and appreciate it like I did. Because I really, and I mean REALLY, enjoyed your music video.

This was, Sir, an amazing video. Respect!


People find this review helpful!

MalficiousMalficious

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

Love it

I love the stop motion, it turned out really well. The live action stuff looked a tad out of place but not hideous. The music choice was amazing. Great job



SoapbubbleSoapbubble

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

Stunning

I'm not saying this is tunning just because of the music, which gives me chills whenever I listen to it. The National is awesome. But this flash wouldn't be the same without your talent.

I've never thought of Portal as a very emotional game, it's rather a funny game. This shows some of what we don't get to see of Portal. The stop-motion style you've used fit so well. Alongside the music it really tells a touching story. The motions are smooth, and the work you did in after-effects was really good.



REWSTERREWSTER

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2012

Wow.

Everything about this was just right. Keep up the good work!