Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


Snifit9Snifit9

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Full of emotion

I've already said all the nice things I could about this piece on its YouTube page. But that won't stop me from giving it the 10/10 it rightfully deserves here. It's nice to see puppet work on this site; which is a rarity and not an art form I often see anymore.

So good job. You did poor Rattman's character justice, set it perfectly to the music, and made an all around perfect video. Thanks for sharing this with the Newgrounds community here.


People find this review helpful!
faceofdoomness responds:

You, sir, are far too generous in your act of giving praise. :)

I can not thank you enough for your continued support and kind words.
So thank you. A bunch of times. :D


FriendlyBrandonFriendlyBrandon

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 18, 2011

I say that was awesome

Now the one thing that i was wondering about how you were able to make ratman and you also got a person to kinda look like chell



DerHellRazorDerHellRazor

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

Gave me goosebumps

You've captured emotion, art, and feelings in one animation. This is superb, keep up the amazing work :D


People find this review helpful!

BladeofFateBladeofFate

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

So it's true!

The ratman does care ;^;



ElPoyoDiabloElPoyoDiablo

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 29, 2011

just wow

the best vid i have ever seen in newgrounds in 5 years but only now that i have account i can write reviews xP

thanks for this pal keep doing vids like this hope the rat man or scientist survives by a miracle :D


People find this review helpful!