Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


SeptetteSeptette

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Too Awesome

The video was very well done, not to mention the music itself. As much as it's worth, I think it's very awesome that someone gave a little attention to Rat Man considering that many people don't even know of his existence in the story itself. Awesome-ass-job! =)


People find this review helpful!

POPO-w12POPO-w12

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Great Combo!

This was a good combo of the first game and the "Lab Rat" comic! This is definitely Valve Recognition worthy! Keep up the good work!



123mine123123mine123

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 26, 2011

Damn GOOSEBUMPS >_<

Awesome! Great summary for the labrat comic! Did you win?


faceofdoomness responds:

Oops...

I updated the "Author Comments" to include the crucial information that I finished it weeks after the competition's deadline...

Thanks for the comment. :)


Bobbaz634Bobbaz634

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

A Big sacrifice

Good man sacrifice Himself for other people good Your sacrifice will be remembered.



McKillerRusMcKillerRus

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 11, 2013

*tears*