Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


sebaametalixsebaametalix

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 1, 2011

I love you.

Just joking :D, man, this animation IS SERIOUSLY like the game and the ratman comic, this is 1 of the best Exile Vilify contest, I like that clay animation style, the details, screenshots, effects, the feelings inside this animation, are so hard, the quality looks a little low, but I know you convert the video into .SWF format, when I finished portal I was thinking who was Doug Rattman, I mean, how he was, what was he doing meanwhile I was solving puzzles, this fits perfect what I was thinking. Nice work :D. (R.I.P. Doug ''Rat'' Rattman) (1980? - 2007).



TheKarasagiTheKarasagi

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 1, 2011

I just... wow

I mean really. I didn't know about this til now... and you did awesome



3GreyLeaves3GreyLeaves

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 1, 2011

Lacks something

I love this in the sense of how much work was put into it. I apriciate all the work you put into it exept your stop-motion. It worked for the consept of this video but it lacked life. Like at the beginning, it was basicly snap shots that were plopped together, and if there was any movement, it went from one spot to another and that was it.
I did notice though that by the end you tried to work on that but it still needs some work. Stop-motion is probobly the most time consuming styles of film so I can understand why you may have, or wanted to rushed it, but for future projects, try to put some life into it.
Also, what was the hardest scene to do? I can see the filming around the hand at the end to be a bit of a hastle but was there a scene where your clay wasn't cooperating? or kept falling? I'm interested.


People find this review helpful!
faceofdoomness responds:

I had a feeling someone was gonna notice that...

Well there were definitely the time constraints that everyone knows about but one of the big reasons why the puppet's movement seems stiff is because I didn't have a program to help me capture the stop motion frames.

With the program I can toggle between frames to see how good the movement is and to see if anything unnecessary moved. I didn't have the benefit of the program so I had to do it all by eye and the small touch screen of my camcorder.

In terms of stop motion, the toughest scene was the movements that Rat Man does that was supposed to loop "seamlessly." Like the frames where he's running and the part where he drags himself on the ground while facing the camera. I was surprised they looped as "good" as they did. If I had the time I would've re-filmed those frames but my time for the video and my time in Korea was short. (I had the perfect set up in the living room of my family's apartment.)

In terms of compositing, the part where he falls through the ground was the hardest. I had to mask out where I wanted the ground chunks to be "in front" of Rat Man and the Companion Cube as they fell. Spent days masking those layers in After Effects.

I hope this response is helpful.

(also if you want to see the puppet with more of a "life" to it, check out a short I did on my youtube entitled "To Rid Oneself of Ennui." I'm probably going to test out the limits of this puppet more during school to see exactly how much I can express through it.)


MelchidaMelchida

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 1, 2011

This is amazing

I believe you truly have captured the story of Rattman in a very beautiful way. I appreciate how you used claymation and live animation in tune with the song. An amazing flash in every way



covinentcovinent

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

is this the true story of what happened to rattman

cuz that would makes sense