Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


NewZombsNewZombs

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 3, 2011

Clay?

Great animation. Guess they can make this the second ending of portal 2. :P



FallowerOfHankFallowerOfHank

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 2, 2011

Oh my...

This was a very moving music video...

I honestly feel a bit sad now... It almost serves as the perfect backstory...



SerunSerun

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 2, 2011

Finally

I've always liked Doug. It's sad that he does all this great stuff for Chell and some people who play the game don't even know he exists. It's good to see him getting the attention he deserves.

Still...I wonder if he ever made it out.


People find this review helpful!

TheGingerGuyTheGingerGuy

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 2, 2011

Wow..

Dude, that was seriously amazing. Shame you didn't get it in on time, you could've won hands down! The music suited the mood and tone of the story being told and the animation was well crafted. It answers the question of what happened to Chell between Portal 1 and 2 and tells the story of Portal's unsung hero. Great gob on a fantastic movie!


People find this review helpful!

Goliath013Goliath013

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 1, 2011

wow...

just so awesome i think my head almost exploded of to much greatness in this video awesome job on this animation :D


People find this review helpful!