Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


nikopol86nikopol86

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 4, 2011

damn.. i cried :')

very beautiful love story. you made me cry.. really. 5/5 for sure!



ConnithConnith

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 4, 2011

Wow... emotional...

This was a very successful attempt at making an excuse for why that writing was on the walls and such. If you are a half-life fan and have played the amazing puzzler you may understand what's going on. It's a shame you couldn't publish it in time for the contest.
Just to be sure, its about some man who probably survived GLaDOS harsh personality and was deep down with the horror robot and her new found test subject. He fell in love with her, an attempted to help her escape not wanting her to fall for the traps too come. He paints guides and repeatedly makes the sentence out loud and clear, "The Cake s a Lie". Soon after the female test subject test subject was close to the surface, only to find GLaDOS' lair and GLaDOS herself standing in the way. After confronting the AI, half the entire facility of Aperture Science broke apart at the failure of a leading AI, and the test subject was found laying unconscious on the surface of earth. The weakened scientist survivor found her being dragged back inside. He followed the body, to find that it was just laying there in a chamber, for the body to rot or so. He had tried getting to the controls to activate the freezing with thus liquid nitrogen or such. One perfect turret, filled with bullets, was standing in the way. He couldn't let the test subject die. He grew to emotionally attached and sacrificed himself running past the turret, being shot horribly. Still crawling his way to the controls,
he activates the chambers liquid nitrogen process. He dies, thus (I am assuming it was 500 years?) many years later, the female test subject is awakened by an AI named Wheatly.
Amazing, and for those of you rare ones that come confused at this brilliant aspect from a scientest, read what i wrote above ^. 5/5. 9/10.

P.S. You sort of made the test subject look like an actual human being.


People find this review helpful!

ZaDooZaDoo

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 3, 2011

The Best Portal Fan Creation I ever Seen!!!

This is totaly off the charts!!! I feel like I just got touched from all this intense story!
The song fits like a glove, i love everything about this clip! XD This will pay off some how.

I added you as favorite!


People find this review helpful!

CorruptMonkeyCorruptMonkey

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 3, 2011

It was AWESOME! and some information from people

Loved the animation! It suited Rattman alot! And just so people the story is taken from the Rattman comics made by Valve which tell the story of what happened between Portal and Portal 2, except it ended a bit differently. he crawled into a cryo-sleep chamber at the end of the comic making you guess if he was alive or dead ;)

The only thing which I would mark this down for was the lack of a role of the companion cube in the video! But its hard to portray a talking cube in a music video so I won't mark you down for it ^.^



zombieslayer124zombieslayer124

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 3, 2011

great flash

good very good and awesome