Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


REWSTERREWSTER

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2012

Wow.

Everything about this was just right. Keep up the good work!



Robo-ChizRobo-Chiz

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 21, 2012

A perfect video version of the Ratman Comic. Loved every second!


People find this review helpful!

ninjakiwi76ninjakiwi76

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 6, 2012

I had to play Both portals agian after seeing this

This made me rethink alot about portal....


People find this review helpful!

HappyTuesdayHappyTuesday

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 24, 2011

Beautiful

Such a powerful back-story. the overall meaning of this video is just divine and heart touching. Great job just great, if i could give more than ten you would have deserved it.


People find this review helpful!

armour123armour123

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 30, 2011

wow

that was absolutly amazing I almost cried when i saw it (not really) but you get my point it was really good and well done


People find this review helpful!