Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


spinningrocketOSspinningrocketOS

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Amazing!

This is incredible!!! I absolutely loved how you conveyed all the emotions and the song was wonderful! Its good you didn't try to rush this, although you would have made it in time for the competition, it probably wouldn't have been as perfected and beautiful as it is now. You'll probably get some recognition for this, its just that amazing!! Alot of people would have probably just given up and quit once they found out they weren't going to make the deadline, but you just kept on chuggin' along. Mad props to you, you have all my respect. I can't wait to show this to my friends, its THAT good


People find this review helpful!
faceofdoomness responds:

Me being the creator still sees lots of little bits and pieces of things that needs tweaking. :B

However, thanks for your comment on my "tenacity." (And for all the really nice compliments :) )
Though... I really should make an effort to finish things on time in the future...


LivelongWheelLivelongWheel

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

always did wonder

how those exit sighns got there and how she survived the explosion. also let me sudt say that i am baffeled at how good this is.



BitBit

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 26, 2011

Good

This music video was great from start to finish. The animation was well done. The combination of stop motion, live action, and other mediums is good. The mood of the audio fit the mood of the video well.

The attention to detail is commendable. For those not familiar with Portal, Portal 2, and Portal 2: Lab Rat, this animation follows the events of Portal and the Lab Rat comic which led up to the cryogenic freeze you wake up from in Portal 2. The directions Doug Rattmann paints around the facility are right there in the game itself. The entire video is canon based on the games and official comic which links them.

The video managed to capture the feeling of Lab Rat and the entire Portal Series well. From the mad scribblings of Doug to his heroic sacrifice to save Chell. It has actually, like the Lab Rate comic it is based on, been able to convey much of the dramatic back-story you wouldn't know just from playing the games.

Fans of Portal will certainly enjoy this music video and the entire Portal 2: Lab Rat comic. This is the story that wouldn't fit in a first-person game like Portal, but is still necessary to understand the events which caused Portal 2.


People find this review helpful!

123mine123123mine123

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 26, 2011

Damn GOOSEBUMPS >_<

Awesome! Great summary for the labrat comic! Did you win?


faceofdoomness responds:

Oops...

I updated the "Author Comments" to include the crucial information that I finished it weeks after the competition's deadline...

Thanks for the comment. :)


AlasKennAlasKenn

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 26, 2011

Oh my god... THAT WAS EPIC!!

I wish that was in the portal games. It would make a lot of sense. I like the way you combined different artwork styles from the game backgrounds to stop-motion and modles to real-action for this. I can easily say all me 5 are belong to this.


People find this review helpful!