Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


squidlysquidly

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Infinetly Amazing

I don't even know where to start.
How about I begin with the fact that as my time on NG has progressed, it has become increasingly rare that I write a review, let alone a very positive one.

This is the exception.

With this single movie, you've managed to combine amazing animation, using techniques that no one man should be able to master all at once, an amazing song, for obvious reasons, and an amazing story, and you've managed to make all of them shine brighter then they ever have before.

This is the best claymation I've seen on the net, this is also one of the most well animated cross-animation style blends, and this is finally one of the best music videos I've ever seen, professional or not.

At the same time, you've also managed to exemplify Ratman's plight in a way that the original comic still couldn't, especially the final moments. It brings new concepts to the Portal universe, how one sacrifice can be completely ignored. It's not as if Chell and him will ever meet each other, but his hope for a better future compels him, and I've never seen that better portrayed then here.

I will do my part, however small it is, to make sure Gabe Newell sees this. He has to. This is just too good to be ignored, too good to be a hidden gem, too good to fall off the portal listings without some kind of special recognition. This is NOT a normal flash, this is far beyond that, it's something your Daily 5th place medal and 1,400 views will never be able to justify.

This is Sundance Film Festival material, and I'm not even remotely joking.


People find this review helpful!
faceofdoomness responds:

This is perhaps one of the nicest reviews I have ever read in my years of submitting my contents online.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review that makes me feel warmer and fuzzier on the inside than a Wookie in the Caribbeans.

You say the Daily 5th and the 1400 view don't do it justice but I think you just did so with this single review. It's words like these that makes me want to continue to do what I love to do and do it better. :)

So once again, I am very grateful for your words of kindness and support.
And stay awesome. Though I'm pretty sure you will continue to do so.


Snifit9Snifit9

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Full of emotion

I've already said all the nice things I could about this piece on its YouTube page. But that won't stop me from giving it the 10/10 it rightfully deserves here. It's nice to see puppet work on this site; which is a rarity and not an art form I often see anymore.

So good job. You did poor Rattman's character justice, set it perfectly to the music, and made an all around perfect video. Thanks for sharing this with the Newgrounds community here.


People find this review helpful!
faceofdoomness responds:

You, sir, are far too generous in your act of giving praise. :)

I can not thank you enough for your continued support and kind words.
So thank you. A bunch of times. :D


HazynHazyn

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

We must get this to gabe!

Even in the silly event if this didnt win, it would have at least won a HUGE mention at Valve. Good job!


People find this review helpful!

Thenumber23pwndThenumber23pwnd

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Wow. I........Wow

Excellent excellent excellent. I have nothing better too say! I loved the story the song seemed to fit it together, and it was just a nice tie in to the Portal story! very nice you get a 5 and 10 for that my friend.


People find this review helpful!

NobleMANNGNobleMANNG

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Almost brought me to tears

Simple, yet elegant and touching. Perfect for a music video. I thought the images of the girl were the best part, especially the drawing of her face in the file. Lots of depth and a well-captured emotion in the eyes


People find this review helpful!