Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


JamatoJamato

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

T__T

This is so touching, that I just wanna cry!



WedgeshedWedgeshed

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

sadly..

I don't know how to say something no one else has already said about how good a job you did. You nailed the story perfectly, and if you were to make it in on time (somehow) I'm sure your's would have been one of the best.


People find this review helpful!

IndexTyrziIndexTyrzi

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Well my little review.

It was good movie but somehow it really didn't touch me. I was about to click close button until that man fell.
When that man fell, I was like "wtf? why he fell? is world collapsing!?"
Stuff happens slow in this movie, I can fall asleep.
I'm not really into this kind of music so I minus just a little points using that opinion.
I love how you use different kind of stuff, like using "green scree" tactic on every living things, and some objects. I like how you used clay in this animation.
Few camera angles feels kinda not important and some camera angles are kinda
in wrong place. plot is kinda not so unique, maybe a little.
That clay man's expressions are very much great.
Overall I give you 6/10 2/5

I do not give extra points if you put'd lots of effort doing this, only entertainment matters if it comes to movies.
Please take this criticism respectfully. :D



thevillain463thevillain463

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

A truly amazing, beautiful video

A true work of art. Deep, meaningful and emotional, I sincerely hope that even if you didn't win the competition that someone from Valve took the time to notice this video. If they didn't, I kind of feel sorry for them, because they truly missed something great.
Thank you.


People find this review helpful!

Gumo-VityaGumo-Vitya

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

I was like : So brillant, so beautiful (with eyes)

This is so beautiful, I never [yep] seen a so beautiful short movie like this !! This is more than awesome, more powerful than a rainbow bunchie and an army of nyan cat, this is... Like a vortex in the universe. Dangerously deadly [+ awesome].
Good job !!!