Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


MiggitymikeyMiggitymikey

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

ALMOST....MADE....IT......

And I'm not talking about Ratman. Excellent story/plot/visuals/everything.



DailonMannDailonMann

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

DUDE.

I googled the Valve Music Video contest, and while you didn't win, they put yours up there noting that you were a late entry they were very partial to. Just letting you know.



MifflenburgMifflenburg

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Amazing work!

I'll be replaying this in my mind whenever I hear the song. You did some goddamn incredible work here, I'm really impressed. I wish I had that kind of determination and skill to make things like this.

I like how Rat Man being claymation really made his loneliness and psychosis apparent, and set him apart.



Rexzot97Rexzot97

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Nice Animation

I like how you tied both Portal games together, that was a nice touch. Still left me wondering what really happened. It got really boring in the beginning, but when he woke up after falling, it got pretty good. It wasn't all to great (story wise), but the animation really impressed me. God knows I would not have the patience to do something like this. I'm kinda dissapointed GlaDos was not in the animation, considering the game revolves around the computer and her control over the facility, but I couldn't do better. Really nice, 4/5 for you and 8/10 stars.



IronCOG117IronCOG117

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Nice

I liked that it gave an explanation as to how the suspension chambers got so fucked up in Portal 2- "Attention: You have been in suspension for 99999999.........."