Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


MADNESSRULES1111MADNESSRULES1111

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

the music

is kind of repettitive but still good 9/10



BobIsRightBobIsRight

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

Amazing

The time you spend on this was worthing it. And I'm not saying this because it's entertainning the web, but because it was touching, well done. It follows the storylines and put a lil' more that Valve wasn't able to do. The concept of putting styles such as puppets, stop-motions, live action sequences make it a unique chef-d'oeuvre. The only thing that I dislike is that you didn't finish it for the competition, because more people would have seen your art and appreciate it like I did. Because I really, and I mean REALLY, enjoyed your music video.

This was, Sir, an amazing video. Respect!


People find this review helpful!

ReaperOniveraReaperOnivera

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

This deserves to be at the top...

Amazing...

Just purely amazing.


People find this review helpful!

invisible12invisible12

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

beyand 10

I seen some good animation in my life but seeing this wow you just told us what happen when she ended up in that room so i wish i can give you a higher rating but 10 will have to do so great job hope to see some more flash new time



CromeDragonCromeDragon

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Touches the heart!

you must be an asshole and a idiot to not like this and give it less then a 9!
my deepest thanks!!


People find this review helpful!