Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


WILSONKILERWILSONKILER

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

wow...

this explains alot to me of the storyline of portal 1 and 2.Nice animation i hope to see big things from u



DoomsdaveDoomsdave

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

Beautiful...

Is the the only word I can use to sum up what I just saw.

Not only did the song fit it so chillingly well, but you put in the research to the story to understand what Rattman went through, as well as fitting the graphics and images of Portal so lovingly in.

Great job. Great. Job.


People find this review helpful!

UltimadragoUltimadrago

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

Been waiting for a video for this song

Great job, awesome song and touching story. It wasn't "exactly" how it happened in the end, but great job nonetheless.



BladeofFateBladeofFate

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

So it's true!

The ratman does care ;^;



pertevpertev

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

A masterpice

this video deserves more than 10 stars keep up the good work and make more stuff like this please


People find this review helpful!