Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


Bobbaz634Bobbaz634

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

A Big sacrifice

Good man sacrifice Himself for other people good Your sacrifice will be remembered.



OmrikonOmrikon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Very nice indeed. Neat angle on the Portal story

The writing on the walls in the Portal games is something I generally appreciated, but I usually assumed it was just explained as "someone else who was trapped there and is granting some assistance." This take manages to portray it as the aid of someone who values Chell and her success, an actual friend. Just the thought that someone has been doing what they can to help you out in the transhuman techno-disaster story that is Portal makes that assistance akin to finding water in the desert.
It'd be a damn interesting twist, that's for sure.


People find this review helpful!

JiromazuJiromazu

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Words can't describe this

Awesome, wonderful, amazing, this is the best of all animations that I ever see in Portal tributes with a romantic and tragic ending!!!


People find this review helpful!

Dan71313Dan71313

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

that was great...

... if you know about rat man. there are a lot of pricks who don't know what they're watching and write a mindless review because they haven't read the comic or played the game. This is amazing! Don't listen to them! This deserves a solid 10. I can tell how hard you worked on this and I hope you don't let those losers get to you. Keep up the good work. :)


People find this review helpful!

ArchusXArchusX

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Rat Man

We Salute you Rat Man, your sacrifice will be for ever known! D:


People find this review helpful!