Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 8:15 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Portal
    Portal The insanely popular Half Life mod gets the Flash treatment.

Author Comments

(( Thank you, Newgrounds, for the Daily 5th, front page and very encouraging reviews! :D ))

(( A weekly third? I am deeply honored. Thank you everyone. :D ))

This is a music video I created for Valve's Music Video competition that ended more than a month ago.

Needless to say, I didn't turn it on in time. But oh well.
I finished it a couple weeks after the competition was over.
The due date was July 15th. I finished it August 6th. ._.

I had it uploaded to youtube weeks before today but have been wondering whether I should upload it to Newgrounds or not. Well, I decided to do so.

Using a combination of Stop-Motion Animation, Live-Action footage and After Effects, this music video was possible. (Special thanks again to my mother for creating the costume for my puppet.)

Hope you guys enjoy this video as much as I have enjoyed making it.

(PS: Thank you for Valve for holding to allow me to be inspired to create this video. Continue to make awesome games guys! (Like they're ever gonna read this...))

- Hae-Joon Lee

(If you want to see a higher quality version of it visit my youtube: http://www.youtube.com/fa ceofdoomness)

:Credits:

- Animated, Edited, Directed by: Hae-Joon Lee
- Puppet Costume Fabrication: Min-Ok Song (Mom)
- Song: "Exile, Vilify" by The National
- Based on "Lab Rat" by Valve
- Live action "Chell" footage and stills from: "Outside Aperture" by Eisen Feuer"
- Background textures and details from "Portal" and "Portal 2" by Valve
- "Chell" portrait by 2dforever
- "GLaDOS" concept art by Valve

Special Thanks to:

- My Parents
- Valve and the Portal Team
- "Loquacious K" for initial inspiration
- All my friends and family for their continued support :)
- Weighted Companion Cube!
- Adobe

Reviews


SoapbubbleSoapbubble

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

Stunning

I'm not saying this is tunning just because of the music, which gives me chills whenever I listen to it. The National is awesome. But this flash wouldn't be the same without your talent.

I've never thought of Portal as a very emotional game, it's rather a funny game. This shows some of what we don't get to see of Portal. The stop-motion style you've used fit so well. Alongside the music it really tells a touching story. The motions are smooth, and the work you did in after-effects was really good.



Ken10BenKen10Ben

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2011

...

I don't know what to say about this perfect made movie...



ZeroDigitZeroDigit

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Speachless

Honestly the amount of work and time this must have taken... This is amazing. Thank you for creating this amazing piece of work that i HOPE valve will look at either way.



ShadowofthegodShadowofthegod

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Awsome

Nicly done one of the best portal tributes i seen



PiedayPieday

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2011

Excellent

There isn't enough stop motion around these days :) this was awesome and it was great to hear the full song to such a fitting tribute, when i came across the radio i took it into the chanber with me so i could listen to it as i played hehe