Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2011 | 9:50 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature August 27, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place August 31, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Tons of upgrade, epic bosses, action-packed and easy to pick up game !

Reviews


FinalChaos99FinalChaos99

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Wow....

Just freaking awesome, i can't describe it anymore intelligent than that :D


People find this review helpful!

BarrydanceBarrydance

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Fantastic

(Warning: long review.)

This game is by far one of the best I have ever played on Newgrounds.

It varies beautifully in difficulty, with the first level being easy enough for a player to beat it without upgrades after only a few attempts, while making the second and third stages much harder. Part of the great aspect of this game is developing strategies that are the most efficient for that particular player in how to approach the game.

Secondly, the concept of "starting gold" is absolutely brilliant. When I first played the game, I was a little upset to notice that gold I had kept from my previous attempt didn't carry over, and neither did my weapons. This made me wonder how on earth this game would be possible to beat. However, as the game progressed I found out just how this game was programmed: carry-over gold and weapons would make this beatable in maybe 30 minutes, but the use of concept gold gives it an incredible feeling of replay value. You get to retry what way you want to go with your assortment of upgrades and really discover which way is optimal.

The upgrades are also fantastic, though I am a bit wary of the Ship Speed upgrade, as it tends to make handling the ship a bit disorienting. I personally avoid that upgrade, not including the parts of it that get upgraded from the Pirate Flag upgrades (which are a great idea). The amount that your stats can vary in this game is fantastic.

Now then, disregarding my comment on the slight difficulty to control the ship the faster you go, here's the reason I'm only giving this a nine: as you upgrade with the Treasure Chest, you gain an ability called Magnet that attracts the money to your ship. This is a great idea and I like that it's been included, but I've noticed that even at the maximum level of upgrade to Magnet, money will still fade away even if it's being attracted to you with the magnet. Something about this infuriated me, possibly because it meant that the Magnet was not exactly making it easier, and therefore wasn't a very good upgrade. It's still fairly decent, but the fact that some money will still fade away from you and not be collected means that you have to be more watchful of it, and therefore take your eyes off your ship.

In addition, some of the shots from the enemy ships seem almost random, particularly at the third and final stage. The area becomes so swarmed with enemies that even if I go in with five or six anchors, I could still end up dead before the final boss. In addition, there have been several games where I've gone all the way to the third stage without ONE single anchor dropping from anything but the first boss (not even the second boss drops one - is this a glitch?)

Finally, the bosses seem like somewhat of a joke compared to the actual stages you have to progress through in order to reach them. This may be the way you intended it, and I personally think that it works okay this way, it just seemed a bit unnatural. This game also seems like it would be rather difficult to play on an iPhone/iPad due to the heavy friction between one's finger and the screen, which would make moving rather difficult. I did not personally buy the app, so that comment may have been off, but it just occurred to me that such a problem could've been likely to happen.

Thank you for making such a fantastic game! 9/10 5/5


People find this review helpful!

dobobodobobo

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

Excelent

Great game! To those having difficulty with gaining money, dealing enough damage, or being too slow to avoid shots, you can buy multiple versions of one upgrade, but not of the same level, so chose wisely.


People find this review helpful!

Kego-thundergodKego-thundergod

Rated 1 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

uninteresting

This game lack any kind of depth, the mechanics are all screwed up. Its riddled with glitches (such as the game starting before the first screen is read). You have no control over your ship other than a very general guide. you can't shoot on your own, or target. And what the heck is with the ice-cubes for currency?



haochen79haochen79

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 27, 2011

one of the best games

this is one of the best games I've played on Newgrounds.


People find this review helpful!