Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 14, 2011 | 2:06 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature August 14, 2011
  • Weekly 5th Place August 16, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Lizards are where it's at.

I've been planning this flash for ages but never had the time. I wish I could have spent longer on this to make it more detailed but work gets in the way. I wanted to play with animating space and landscapes and sky scapes. I'm pretty much happy with how it came out, though plan to make more animations like this in the future, so feedback would be good fellers! I've already seen some things I'd like to change and I think some of the transitions could be smoother, but if I don't put it up now I never will!

Thanks to OcularNebular for the music: http://www.newgrounds.com /audio/listen/382465

Reviews


RiflemanJoeRiflemanJoe

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 22, 2011

Excellent Idea

Now I understand that you said that work got in the way of detail, so I will leave that alone since you already know it needs more of that, but I will give you some constructive criticism on other things I noticed.

First, speed up your action shots. The movie felt awfully slow paced at parts such as the lightning bolt flying through space when in reality one would imagine it shooting across the sky in a blur.

Second, while the music fit very well with the animation, in the future I would suggest to vary up the music, play with how loud or soft it is, etc. Music is very important when it comes to voiceless animations like this, often speaking for the characters since they can't speak themselves.

Overall, you did a wonderful job on this animation, I hope you'll remember my suggestions on your next animation! :thumbsup:


People find this review helpful!

SkyeWintSkyeWint

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 21, 2011

I think I'm late on reviewing this.

But oh well. Review time!

The intro is interesting, and the music seems to fit in well. It was a bit confusing though, at first. I wasn't sure what was meant to happen. After a little bit though, it was revealed. It looked pretty good, and the music was ok, but in the end, the point of it escaped me, and I wasn't sure what it was supposed to symbolize or if it was just supposed to look cool. It definitely looked good, and made me think a bit about what it was supposed to mean, so I suppose it's alright. I think it would have been better if there were more of a plot or point to it though. If there was a plot or point, I think it would have been nice if it were clearer...

-Review Request Club-
-SWINT-


People find this review helpful!

BitBit

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 14, 2011

Good

The animation is fair. More detail in every part of the animation would be great. Everything was fairly smooth and the lighting effects used in the landscape in the beginning and in the Earthscape as it is lit up are good. The use of shadows was fair considering the lack of detail.

Sound was good. The volume and speed of the music changes with the animation a bit, which shows that you put quite a bit of thought into the music you were using as opposed to simply adding in a song you thought sounded good without syncing it with the animation. That being said, parts of the song sound as though the gain was simply turned up nearly all the way and it sounds almost distorted.

The plot was amazing. The beginning takes place in an unassuming landscape. The last place one would expect to make contact with alien life forms. Then an ordinary lizard discovers an alien artifact which humans would have been astounded to find. The comically startled look on the lizard's face adds to the scene by showing that he does not know what he's found more than anyone else would. The symbols on the aliens' foreheads and their facial expressions imply that they have a much stronger connection to lizards than they would humans. That being said, who's to say this doesn't all take place thousands of years ago, or even millions of years into the future?

Fair animation. Good use of shadows and lighting. Detail needs work. Good audio. An improvement would be to collaborate with an audio artist on your next submission and then both the animation and music could be tweaked to create the effect you want. The best part of this flash is the plot which is both funny and awe-inspiring.


People find this review helpful!
Slinkers responds:

Thanks for your feedback, I appreciate it. I will work on the things you mentioned in future animations.


ALECXACEALECXACE

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

lol

it was weird but that's what made it awesome!!!!!!!


People find this review helpful!

musmanmusman

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 19, 2011

Surprisingly Good

To be quite honest, I wasn't expecting much when I saw this on front page. But I was really pleasantly surprised, this flash brought a smile to my face.

It was cute and really quite interesting. I agree with the comments below, the facial expressions of the lizard were cute and quite well done. I like your style.

I agree with your synopsis too - Landscape and sky needed more detail. Also movement - A lot of the movement could've been improved, which is why I am giving an 8.

But really, great work! I look forward to seeing more of your stuff :)