Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articles/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blogspot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Also on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm

Reviews


OZTNIZDASHTOZTNIZDASHT

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2011

This was fucking awesome!

It would have been a great ending to a game.

P.S. I favorited this



NotVerySkilledNotVerySkilled

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 9, 2011

This gave me goosebumps

This is some seriously epic shit! it was really nice.



BakiTheFoxBakiTheFox

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 14, 2011

Agreeing with InnocentDevil306

Very much so an anthem to gamers far and wide. Impressive work with the artwork too, it reminded me of the same images that pop into mind when playing games like Final Fantasy or Breath of Fire during awesome cutscenes.



jls29jls29

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 16, 2011

I'm along for the ride.

Excellent summary of the "Gamer" in all of us.



Keilen13Keilen13

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 10, 2011

EXTRAORDINARY

O_o i'm wordless...this video was just amazing..beautiful

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/10
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/5
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx' times favorited