Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articles/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blogspot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Also on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm

Reviews


DankScarverDankScarver

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 28, 2011

Meh

As somebody who takes music -very- seriously, the song itself isn't impressive.

As somebody who also takes his games -very- seriously, the story the song paints does strike a chord in my heart.

My music side is a little annoyed with the song. The timbre of your voice has a lot of nasal and was sort of hard to sit through. The lyrics (though epic) didn't really have a set rhyming pattern which -really- bothered me. The drums were programmed to keep my interest which I am very thankful for but all the other instruments just sort of blended together and didn't really stand out.

My gamer side is yelling "FUCK YES THIS IS MY ANTHEM!" though kind of embarrassing to admit.

On the flash video itself you did a very good job with the art. I dug the 16 bit and more or less the attention to detail you gave the character design. It was a little iffy in a few places but what can I expect from 16 bit?

So, I'll give you a 4/5. Because I really like the idea of the song and the flash video itself was really good. Perhaps if the song was worked on a bit more a perfect 5 would be given.



kyle3033kyle3033

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 10, 2011

Wonderful!

It was great, although it took a while to really pick up. When it first started i was awfully close to closing the window, but once it hit about halfway i was blown away. great job.



thepointsthepoints

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 18, 2011

great artwork, improve vocals

Try to rhyme
every other line
so its a bit more fine..tuned



VANDIVANDI

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 11, 2011

Well done

This reminds me of a gamers from 80's. Nowadays nobody look at the games, like he looked 30 years ago.

Just think about all those halo fan-boys, Wow additcs ... Toons of senseless fpp games. It makes me sick.

Back in the 80's it was just you, your controller and your TV.

Pretty nice animation, and song.


People find this review helpful!

BlitzstangeBlitzstange

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 24, 2011

fun and entertaining!

Good vid!. Very cool idea for a song. I love the graphics, the topic, and the combo of emotions that your trying to share. Its so bitter sweet at the end of the night at 4am when the game is over, and you must leave that awesome world and return to reality. My only complaint would be the lyrics. I felt myself cringe more than once when the words in your song would have almost no flow to them. Im not saying you have you have to rhyme throughout your song, but sometimes ask yourself "do these lyrics sound good together?"

Anyway. Keep it up! ill be waiting for more from you guys. ill vote 4/5 because of how hard you guys worked. ;)