Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articl es/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside -chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Watch the HD version on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside -chat.htm

Reviews


JoltMastaJoltMasta

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 9, 2011

Not Bad

I personally feel that the ambition is a little greater then the end product. It I look at it for what it is, a neat little song that pays respect for gamers. It was worth the watch.

If I follow the hype left by the authors claims that I should expect this to be the "Anthem for gamers" and the "new epic song", then the experience is greatly whimpered by the vanilla sounding vocalist and somewhat hokey lyrics.


People find this review helpful!

rockspritesrocksprites

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 1, 2011

Mixed Feelings

This video was referred to me by a friend. I honestly think it was put together very well; the animation is reminiscent of many video games as is the audio. The artwork was also inspiring and you can see the effort put into this piece. The lyrics to the song flow together very well, and the story they tell pulls it all together. I do not, however, agree with the conclusion of the video. I believe that video games have a place and purpose in our lives, so I am not trying to belittle people who enjoy playing them. But in having an obsession with gaining your next high by "saving the world," you are in essence doing nothing to save the world; the real world. You instead get lost in this idea that you are actually making a difference. It's a clever devise story tellers use. But just because you feel something in front of a screen does not mean that you have accomplished anything. Unless you put the "experienced gained" into practice, it's all in your head. A delusion.



JustAnnyingJustAnnying

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 8, 2011

I know this comment will be "useless" but...

The world today isnt exactly "saved" with gaming. Ever since the Xbox 360 was made, the world of gaming slowed down, fanboys/fangirls have to wait longer for games to comeout too mainly because the fact the Xbox 360 games, Ps3 games, Wii games, are all REALLY harder to program unless you have REALLY expensive equiptment like your own studio with Movement sensation animations like how VAVLe and Naughtydog has. Which is actually why the Xbox has 800-820 games while the Ps2 was 2,400 game, and what. Ps2 was made TWO years before the Xbox 360?

Then another thing that slowed us down is that the Xbox Live costs money and some people dont want to waste it when they want to buy MORE games. The Ps3 ALSO cost ALOT more money because of the Free internet, free Chargable plugin for your controller, and the 8 Gib stuff.
Then the systems start copying eachother, like the Xbox Kinect is a ripoff of the Ps2/Ps3's Eyetoy Kinect, and the new controller for the Ps3 is a ripoff of the Wii, and the Wii.... has suckish games.

Finally, What mother fucking idiot makes ALOT of FPS games? CoD sucks, what is the point of the Nazi Zombies? And Halo fans, have you heard Bungie isnt making anymore Halo games? Activision owns it. The worst games possible is made by Activision and SEGA. Part of activision was sooo bad, VALVe had to Sue "Activision Blizzard" which also had "Sierra Entertainment" working for it. (THANK GOD! I hate those new Crash Bandicoot games).

But back to the main idea, This video was great, partially not fully true at all, but great singing and animation.

So those viewing this comment, go ahead, post this comment as "Useless". I know you can't face the truth about today's games. It's so horrible, the S.978 Bill was made. Be fucking glad it didnt become a law, Youtube wouldn't exist much anymore.



imasoulmanimasoulman

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 10, 2011

huh

someone was inspired by the songs in portal...



nilesfamnilesfam

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 10, 2011

Pretty good

I was a bit dissapiointed with the lyrics att the beginning, it sounded more like a poem than a song. It slowly picked up and by halfway i was bobbin' my head and jammin. Good job, Great art, keep it up!