Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articl es/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside -chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Watch the HD version on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside -chat.htm

Reviews


Stupidmonkey112Stupidmonkey112

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 13, 2011

Great Job

This brings back memories of when Oblivion came out. Reminds me of the good old days with a great RPG. And, this is what is going to happen when Skrym comes out. Great job, good music and good flash. Keep it up!


People find this review helpful!

chaosmaskerchaosmasker

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 17, 2011

thank you

just thank you



godhammergodhammer

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 29, 2011

Well done guys.

Very well done. It's quite clear the amount of effort that went into this collaboration, and mostly very nice. The animation fits in very well with the music, and accents the melancholy mood quite nicely. I do have to admit that there were a few pictures that didn't seem to stand up to the rest of the artwork, but it was a minor detail.

Musically, I won't say much. As suggested below, a rhyming scheme might be a bit more effective.

All in all, a great collaboration and I recommend this to anyone else who's up at two in the morning.



JIGDJIGD

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 9, 2011

Every gamer has lived this.

You nailed it, good job dude! I'm glad newgrounds front page isn't full of BS like always. Hope to see more of this.



UrumakaUrumaka

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 22, 2011

Oh man, that's art.

Often people overestimate themselves with saying what they've created is an anthem.... but you got it right. I'm curious to how haters are going to try to complain about this work of neostalgic art.