Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articles/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blogspot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Also on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm

Reviews


KatokunKatokun

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

I almost shed a tear

But I didn't cos i'm baddass

No, wait... T_T there it is

Great music! really, it is truly a song for gamers, got to my hearth!



NewZombsNewZombs

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

Great music.

The situation between real life and video game. Reminds everyone about the cruel reality after the victory in virtual world.


People find this review helpful!

ComicmischiefComicmischief

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

Deeper than anything else on Newgrounds

I think I could apply every line of this to various situations of life, not just video games.

But even about video games, This was absolutely incredible. I can honestly, not through peer pressure, give this a 10. Even the pixily graphics fit well. I don't know if you meant the art that way or better, but it turned out incredible.

Thank you so much for this Jewel, I hope there's a download soon.


People find this review helpful!

knightlight87knightlight87

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

oddly inspiring

good work


People find this review helpful!

PissedOffCriticPissedOffCritic

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

I don't feel so bad anymore.

I always felt lacking at the end of a game and felt kinda like I wasted time, but this video reminded me why I played video games in the first place. The story, the gameplay, the people--player & NPC, and it's all for the ride. I feel much better.


People find this review helpful!