Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articl es/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside -chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Watch the HD version on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside -chat.htm

Reviews


ChuckNorrisCatChuckNorrisCat

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

Well, , ,

Reading the comments beforehand (as I always do) I expected much more. Not bad, but my expectations were a little to high.



NickPantsNickPants

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

Awesome

Greatest Song Ever !!!



PeanutChocolateBarPeanutChocolateBar

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

Perfect.

The world needs more people like you.



newbgrounderrob1newbgrounderrob1

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

I love it

A perfect example of why the journey is at least as important as the goal itself. A lot of people around me dont get why I play video games, or can play it hours in a row. But its a vast experience were you get satisfaction everytime when you gain a new awesome item , or beat the next boss. As your character takes a more important role in his game, the you've bonded with that character resulting in getting more drawn in that world.
A great explanation that a game is worth more than 'i just gotta save the princess'.


People find this review helpful!

Jdietz43Jdietz43

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 15, 2011

Perfect...

People always ask me why I play video games... "It doesn't do anything for the rest of your life" "So you finish the game, so what?" "None of that amounts to much once you walk away". I point out neither do many other talents and crafts people pursue (sports and going to the movies for instance), but video games are often a mental chasm of non-understanding for people.

So why play video games? Why play even if they fade to black when the lights get turned down and the power shut off? Why get up in the morning, why live out your life, why do anything that ever was at all?

Because you never played for the ending. You don't play to win, you play for each little treasure of the moment, and the spirit of adventure each new experience brings. Just like the rest of everyone's life has been and will be lived for. You play for you, not for the game over.

I almost never download things from the internet if they cost anything, as I seldom have the means. But if possible: I'll find that dollar on it's way.

Thank you.


People find this review helpful!