Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articl es/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside -chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Watch the HD version on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside -chat.htm

Reviews


PatcalmaPatcalma

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 16, 2011

EPIC SONG

Nice work dude but some how my laptop made this load for a while somehow BUT WHO CARES THIS WAS THE MOST EPIC SONG EVER i wish there was an atomatic replayer



UberToastMan666UberToastMan666

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 16, 2011

Bobbybroccoli about sums it up.

This made my day, dude. After sifting through all the shit I've seen on this site recently, I found a gem. Wonderful song, love the pixelated animation. I'm going to have to start watching your page.

P.S. I'm totally going to iTunes now.



BobbybroccoliBobbybroccoli

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 16, 2011

You've made me proud to be a gamer.

I can't describe how great this song makes me feel.

Visuals: Though not animated, they helped the overall storytelling of the song. They were pixellated, and it was much better that way. The pictures felt like a videogame, and made it muc more enjoyable.

Music: It starts off slow, and builds itself up to the climax where you start to chant "The world is saved!". The lyrics were well chosen, they were suited to the rhythm of the song, and they told the story accurately and thoughtfully. The singing was great, and provided emotion to the flash. The instumental parts were like the spicing of it all, not needed, but tasty.

Story: you told the cliche of a videogame where everything is finished, and was very well done. You've expressed the story of any gamer. Fear of nothing left to do.

Overall: Great job, keep making music videos and you'll do great on here.


People find this review helpful!

SirVegoSirVego

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 16, 2011

Oh my good god

Is it wrong that im about to cry after watching this??


People find this review helpful!

riderdecaderiderdecade

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 16, 2011

I WANT YOU!

to make one like this on HACKERS!!!!! HACKERS ARE EPIC!