Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 6, 2011 | 9:56 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 8, 2011
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 9, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Anthem of the Gamer.

The World is Saved is a new epic song and anthem for video game fans. Made in the pixel-art style of SNES (Super Nintendo) cutscenes, this video was a collaborative effort from IGN's Podcast Beyond community. IGN's Ryan Clements pulled together a small team of volunteers to animate a video for Danny Wiessner's latest single. The video debuted at the end of the live recording of Podcast Beyond Episode 200, which can be viewed here: http://ps3.ign.com/articles/118/1186511p1.html

Please support Danny by purchasing his song! Now on Itunes!

Credits:
Music written and performed by Danny Wiessner.
Art by pandamusk, Benjamin A. Smith (Ekublai), and Michael Hruby (Wastedkitten).
Artwork Referenced: "Fireside Chat" by Matt Rhodes.
http://mattrhodesart.blogspot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm
Editing by Sam Alegria.

The World is Saved single is available for purchase on iTunes.

Follow Us on Twitter: Danny @tuanews, Ben @Ekublai, pandamusk @pandamusk, Michael @wastedkitten, and Sam @SamAlegria

Also on Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wBzqOa9y02I

Update: FRONTPAGE! WEEKLY 2nd! DAILY 2nd! #2 All-time! 2 is our magic number apparently! Thank you so much Newgrounds!
Update V2: Neglected to credit Matt Rhodes for his reference art: http://mattrhodesart.blog spot.com/2010/11/fireside-chat.htm

Reviews


DasJakeDasJake

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 9, 2012

Now try to make a flash that explains to parents or girlfriends that our games is not similar to a drug addiction.


People find this review helpful!

DeltaDukeDeltaDuke

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 3, 2012

made me cry at little tbh , it love how true it is, well for me at least.


People find this review helpful!

pman67pman67

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2012

I am a gamer you just descirbed a gamer's essence
in this music video like we don't this play to get to the end
we play for the thrill and for our respect and dignity
in the gaming world and the SNES references was
really good Idea, so basically there are two words
for this flash-
PURE AWESOME


People find this review helpful!

MalleusMaleficarumMalleusMaleficarum

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars August 22, 2012

This is my third attempt at reviewing this movie without being deleted. In my first review, I used adjectives like 'pathetic' and, fair enough, my post was banned. In my second review I referred to the obvious effort put into this movie as a 'tragic waste of time' and got removed again. Here's my third attempt. Unless it is a offense to say that something is poorly executed, I can not see how the following remarks break the NG guidelines: I really really do not like this movie. I feel the subject is depressing in it's lack of ambition and I dislike the conclusion immensely. I find the music to be very annoying and I think the graphics are sub-par. To be constructive, I would suggest that the movie requires some introspection, perhaps dealing with what is lost during the hours spent interacting with an artificial story designed to turn out well.


EKublai responds:

I fear... you have missed the point of the song then. I will not berate you for your musical tastes, nor if you recognize that the art design takes inspiration from the limited animation of Super Nintendo cutscenes and still find the tribute lacking. But this is a song for gamers, about gamers. Like any pasttime such as sports, religion, education, entertainment, and countless others, video games entrance people for transcending the real world, making us believe that if we concentrate solely on it for a short time, they will take us places we could never imagine and turn us out as better people. But like the football player who pushes himself to injury, the man whose faith is tested, or the student who sacrifices friends for homework, too much of a good thing has its negative consequences. But sometimes, the opposite happens, and the thing we love teaches us something valuable, beyond escapism and anti-social behavior, and it can be a truly character-building experience.


MeteorkeeperMeteorkeeper

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 21, 2012

Epic in its truest form
Well done and thanks


People find this review helpful!